Young Adult Review: Youngblood by Sasha Laurens

Share this!

Check out our review of Youngblood by Sasha Laurens, a queer young adult fantasy. Perfect for fans of Vampire Diaries and dark academia. You could say it’s the Vampire Academy of 2022.

Disclosure: I received this book for free from the author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. This post contains affiliate links. That means we receive a small commission at no cost to you from any purchases you make through these links.


genre-icon-youngadult
YOUNG ADULT

Book cover Youngblood by Sasha Laurens

Youngblood
by Sasha Laurens

Standalone
Released: July 19, 2022
416 Pages | ebook

read this book if you’re in the mood for

SAPPHIC ROMANCE | VAMPIRES | BOARDING SCHOOL

“The truth was, no one else could be trusted to love you, even to like you. Certainly not understand you, and in only a few cases respect you.”

— 𝙔𝙤𝙪𝙣𝙜𝙗𝙡𝙤𝙤𝙙, Sasha Laurens

Okay first of all, this book was FUN. It’s been so long since I read a YA vampire novel that wasn’t incredibly cheesy and awkward. This book checked all the boxes.

Supernatural ✅
Sapphic ✅
Mystery ✅
Secluded boarding school ✅
A deadly infectious disease ✅
Plot twists and secrets ✅

I absolutely loved the dual POV, and how both Kat and Taylor’s voices were very distinct and also stream-of-consciousness. Getting inside the heads of these two Youngbloods who come from very different worlds was so fun.

I also really loved the plot: a disease is infecting humans, and is deadly to vampires so now vampires have to drink synthetic blood in order to survive? Thus no longer having to rely on humans for survival and proving they’re the superior creatures? LOVE.

This got 4.5 stars from me because it tended to drag in some spots, and the constant change of POV in the middle of a chapter was mildly exhausting to keep up with.

This book also touched on a lot of important topics like class and race (human vs. vamp) differences, and sexuality.

in conclusion

I highly recommend if you’re looking for a fun sapphic vampire story unlike anything else out there.

add the book to
Purchase the book

Read more

Pin it for Later!

Book Review Youngblood by Sasha Laurens
Book review Youngblood by Sasha Laurens
Book review Youngblood by Sasha Laurens

Share this!

Similar Posts

Subscribe
Notify of
guest

1 Comment
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Amy R

Thanks for the review.