New Books for Fall to Read in 2022

Share this!

We’ve finally made it to one of my favorite seasons. Not only does that mean cozy sweaters and pumpkin spice lattes (even if I have to crank the AC in the house to achieve that), but it also means some amazing books for Fall are on the horizon. There’s something about Fall reading that warms my soul. And while we put together a list of recommendations for you (coming soon), today we wanted to feature some new releases that we’ve come across that should be on you radar.

2022 fall vibes new releases header (1)

This post contains affiliate links. That means we receive a small commission at no cost to you from any purchases you make through these links

Romance Books for Fall

The first leaves falling from the trees, colors changing, some comfy clothes and of course a PSL. All important things for the Fall. And now we add also these new releases that just scream Fall vibes. You can get ready from now or wait until after Halloween is over. You’ll be looking for that perfect read to get you through November and ready for Holiday reading season. These sound perfect for that!

Book cover What a Match by Mimi Grace

What a Match
by Mimi Grace

read this book if you want
  • Grumpy hero
  • Brothers’ best friend

Heroine knows exactly the type of man she wants and thinks a matchmaker is the right move to find him. She’s not counting on her brother’s best friend moving into her home and shaking her perfect-on-paper checklist.

Book cover Accidentally Amy by Lynn Painter

Accidentally Amy
by Lynn Painter

read this book if you want
  • Meet cute over PSL
  • Grumpy/sunshine
  • Friends to lovers

Besides a super meet cute and a dash of mistaken identity, Izzy finds her mystery man from the coffee shop is her new grumpy boss.

Available on Kindle Unlimited

Book cover A Pumpkin and a Patch by Jennifer Peel

A Pumpkin and a Patch
by Jennifer Peel

read this book if you want
  • Ex’s lawyer
  • Single father
  • Parent/teacher romance

Heroine wrote a pirate story about the hero when she was fifteen. Now he grew up to to be the lawyer representing her ex, and the father to one of her students.

Available on Kindle Unlimited

Book cover Pumpkin Spice and Not So Nice by Becky Monson

Pumpkin Spice and Not So Nice by Becky Monson

read this book if you want
  • Romantic comedy
  • Pumpkin patch setting

Heroine, a fan of Turkish dramas and lover of emotionally unavailable men, seems to have found her Prince Charming. But instead of wanting to date him, because he’s like all her exes, she wants to help him.

Available on Kindle Unlimited

There can never be enough Fall books! If you can’t wait for our 2022 Fall reading guide to come out, check out our previous years Fall book recommendations here

Book cover Autumn Sky

Autumn Sky
by Jenna Starly

read this book if you want
  • Fake dating
  • Billionaire hero

Space billionaire needs a girlfriend for an upcoming conference and heroine needs a date for her sister’s wedding. A blind match that turns to more.

Available on Kindle Unlimited

Happily Haunted Afters
by Brittany Kelley

read this book if you want
  • Second chance romance
  • Haunted hotel

Heroine is looking to own a hotel and fix her friendship with ex-best friend. He’s an investor and she finds her dream property, except for the phantom problem.

Available on Kindle Unlimited

Cozy Mystery Books for Fall

When it comes to books with Fall vibes, I can’t quite put my finger on why but cozy mysteries seems like a perfect choice. It’s not as harsh as a thriller, which is perfect for winter when you need to get the blood pumping a bit more. And you can just lay back, sip your coffee or tea and get lost in a cute murder investigation. Because of course, those can be cute and there’s absolutely nothing wrong with me. These are some of the cozy mysteries on our radar for Fall.

Book cover Blackmail and Bibingka by Mia P. Mananasala

Blackmail and Bibingka
by Mia P. Manansala

read this book if you want
  • Early holiday story
  • Family ties

Heroine’s cousin is back in town after ghosting the family for years. He’s purchased a winery but quickly becomes the suspect in a murder.

Available October 4, 2022

Soul of a Killer
by Abby Collette

read this book if you want
  • Soul food
  • Set at a bookstore

Fraternal twins running a soul food cafe and bookstore have to find a killer after their foster mom and one of the bookstore’s employees are suspects in the murder of a churchgoer.

Available October 4, 2022

Book cover The Ghost and the Stolen Tears by Cleo Coyle

The Ghost and the Stolen Tears by Cleo Coyle

read this book if you want
  • Set at a bookshop
  • Historical background
  • Red herrings

Bookshop owner Pen with the help of a ghost work to clear an innocent woman of a crime.

Available October 4, 2022

Book cover Calypso, Corpses and Cooking by Raquel V. Reyes

Calypso, Corpses and Cooking by Raquel V. Reyes

read this book if you want
  • Set in Miami
  • Foodie mystery

Perfect for fans of Mia P. Manansala. Cuban-American cooking show star finds a corpse in her yard of the woman kicked out of the school’s Fall Festival. Caribbean food trucks and a calypso band.

Available October 11, 2022

A Good Dog’s Guide
to Murder
by Krista Davis

read this book if you want
  • Dogs and cats
  • Thanksgiving in the mountains

An old oak tree hiding secrets, or a corpse, in the midst of a gingerbread house competition.

Book cover Halloween Party Murder by Leslie Meier Lee Hollis and Barbara Ross

Halloween Party Murder by Leslie Meier, Lee Hollis & Barbara Ross

read this book if you want
  • Halloween night parties
  • Small town in Maine

From haunted houses and halloween bashes to a Halloween night sleepover!

The Plot and the Pendulum by Jenn McKinlay

read this book if you want
  • Public Library setting
  • Cold case connection

A skeleton is discovered at a Victorian estate while gathering a book collection for the Library. Turns out to be connected to a missing persons cold case from the 80s.

Available October 11, 2022

Book cover Two Parts Sugar, One Part Murder by Valerie Burns

Two Parts Sugar, One Part Murder by Valerie Burns

read this book if you want
  • Surprise inheritance (bakery)
  • Foodie mystery

Social media star moves to a small town to take over running a bakery left to her by her great-aunt after her groom is a no-show at their wedding.

Are you looking for more traditional mysteries? A perfect atmospheric fit for Fall are historical mysteries and we’ve put together a great list for you! Check out our historical mysteries roundup.

It’s Witchy Season

Paranormal romance is making a bit comeback in the past couple of years and my soul couldn’t be happier. I long for the days where I could drown in PNR recommendations and would just jump from one amazing series to the next. I definitely missed that and I’m happy to see it slowly making its way back into the publishing schedule, traditional and indie. Here are some witchy and paranormal kind of books that are out this season (either already out or upcoming) that will make a perfect addition to your seasonal TBR. I know I can’t wait to read them.

Book cover Resting Witch Face by Juliette Cross

Resting Witch Face
by Juliette Cross

read this book if you want
  • Witch+Vampire romance
  • Second chance

Mutual pining, second chance, forced proximity and only one bed. Oh and a vampire masquerade ball.

Available October 31, 2022

Dark Witch Hunter
by Kait Ballenger

read this book if you want
  • Elite hunter group
  • Enemies to lovers

Witch hunter needs the help of a witch with a dark past.

Available October 25, 2022

Extra Witchy
by Ann Aguirre

read this book if you want
  • Politics
  • Shocking family secret

Heroine is running for city council and she’s concerned her past can be used against her unless she finds the right husband.

Available October 4, 2022

Hallows End
by Kristen Proby

read this book if you want
  • Salem setting
  • Elemental witch

Heroine is a green witch. She finds herself in the forest after a nightmare. There she finds the hero who isn’t like anyone in town. Them being together can destroy not only them but those who live in the town’s borders.

Available October 4, 2022

Young-Adult-Angelika-Frankenstein-Makers-Her-Match-by-Sally-Thorne

Angelika Frankenstein Makes Her Match by Sally Thorne

read this book if you want
  • Historical setting
  • Frankenstein’s sister

Frankenstein’s sister makes her perfect man by resurrecting one (in multiple body parts)

Book cover The Kiss Curse by Erin Sterling

The Kiss Curse
by Erin Sterling

read this book if you want
  • Set around Halloween
  • Professional business competition

Hero opens a witchcraft shop across the street from heroine and family looking to re-establish a connection to the town his family founded.

Book cover The Very Secret Society of Irregular Witches

The Very Secret Society of Irregular Witches by Sangu Mandanna

read this book if you want
  • Isolate witch
  • Set in Britain

Heroine is one of the few witches in Britain, but hiding her magic. Except she posts videos online pretending to be a witch. And then someone starts taking those videos seriously.

Book cover In the Shadow Garden by Liz Parker

In the Shadow Garden
by Liz Parker

read this book if you want
  • Magical realism
  • Past coming to haunt them

Three witches own a shadow garden, magic that can cure heartache and give the local bourbon a special quality. A shot can make you forget your worst memory.

Witchful Thinking
by Celestine Martin

read this book if you want
  • Cursed witch
  • Seaside town

A witch, and teacher, living with her sisters in a home she inherited complete with recipes for spells. Hero is a merman and her high school crush that’s come back to town.

Available September 27, 2022

Book cover A Ghost in Shining Armor by Therese Beharrie

A Ghost in Shining Armor
by Therese Beharrie

read this book if you want
  • Ghosts
  • Fake dating

Heroine can see ghosts and helps them settle their unfinished business. Hero is a ghost with a second chance at life if he helps her instead and then never see her again.

Book cover Witcha Gonna Do by Avery Flynn

Witcha Gonna Do?
by Avery Flynn

read this book if you want
  • Enemies to lovers
  • Unlucky witch struggling with no magical powers

Heroine is part of a powerful witch family but she has no magical abilities. She accidentally makes a spell glitch and curses her family. The only one that can help her break it? Her nemesis.

Available December 6, 2022

Book cover The Lost Witch by Paige Crutcher

The Lost Witch
by Paige Crutcher

read this book if you want
  • Time travel
  • Curses

Heroine is a witch and healer in Ireland. When her daughter falls ill she taps forbidden magic to save her. Instead, she’s transported 100 years into the future and unleashes a powerful curse.

Available December 27, 2022

Even more Fall book releases on our radar!

Pin it for Later!

fall vibes new releases
fall vibes new releases new releases
fall vibes new releases 2022
Follow Me
Latest posts by Under the Covers Book Blog (see all)

Share this!

Similar Posts

Subscribe
Notify of
guest

1 Comment
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Amy R

Thanks for the post, adding a few to my wishlist.