I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.
ARC Review: Heard It in a Love Song by Tracey Garvis Graves
Heard It in a Love Song

4 Stars

Book Info

Released: November 9 2021
Genre: Womens Fiction
Published by St. Martins Press
Pages: 304
Format: eARC
 

“I couldn’t put down.”

~ Under the Covers

Recommended Read!

Every time I see a new book is coming out by Tracey Garvis Graves, I just get excited. And then on top of that, this has one of my favorite covers of the year! I couldn’t wait to start reading it. Ms. Garvis Graves certainly delivered a book that I couldn’t put down.

Told in dual timelines, we get to meet our main characters Josh and Layla. Both currently divorced. Layla used to be an aspiring rock star in a band waiting for their big break. Now she teaches music instead. Josh married his high school sweetheart and built a life for his family, improvising along the way. Now, he’s a single father sharing custody of his daughter. Both are maybe ready to look for love again. But is it the right time and have they learned from their past mistakes?

I really liked both characters a lot and I enjoyed seeing their journey’s in the past and now. From where they came from to where they are. I especially wanted Layla to go for her dreams and I think this was handled in a great way in the end too.

There’s something a bit more subdued and less flashy about this story and it didn’t take anything away from my enjoyment of it. I read this in one sitting. While I still consider this a women’s fiction novel, it does have a substantial thread of romance that will keep romance fans happy. This one is perfect for fans of Taylor Jenkins Reid and Sarah Jio.



What did you think of our review?
Let us know your thoughts in the comment box below!

 ♡ Don’t want to miss any of our posts? ♡ 

ARC Review: Heard It in a Love Song by Tracey Garvis GravesARC Review: Heard It in a Love Song by Tracey Garvis Graves
Follow me
Latest posts by Francesca (see all)

Similar Posts

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
4 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
shika paramesh

Reading is something I enjoy doing. Thanks for sharing.

Sophia Rose

I re-read On the Island and it’s follow up this summer and I love her writing. I’ll definitely be giving this a go. Enjoyed your thoughts on it, Francesca.

K. A Bylsma

Great review ad I’m looking forward to reading this! Thanks!

Amy R

Thanks for the review.