ARC Review: From Blood and Ash by Jennifer L. Armentrout

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.
ARC Review: From Blood and Ash by Jennifer L. Armentrout
From Blood and Ash

4 Stars

Book Info

Released: March 31 2020
Genre: Fantasy
Series: Blood and Ash #1
Pages: 622
Format: Paperback
 

Recommended Read!

“…such an addictive read.⁠”
~ Under the Covers

This surprise release is a YA fantasy with the chosen one trope full of romance, politics and betrayal!⁠

This book is being recommended for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Laura Thalassa. Now, mind you I haven’t read Maas (gasp!) so I couldn’t tell you, but I do think it’s great for fans of the Remnant Chronicles by Mary E. Pearson.⁠

Our main character, Poppy, is a badass trapped in a life that is not of her choosing. But she’s done the best she can with her situation. Holding her head high and not being a victim of her circumstances. Taking control of the things she could, one at a time. Wanting to experience life, while also suffering some pretty bad fates. And then we have Hawke. He’s unapologetic, alpha, but incredibly charming and charismatic. The chemistry between these two is instant, the banter kept me turning the pages. It really made this such an addictive read.⁠

This book clocks in at 610 pages and I’ll admit it’s a character driven story. I would’ve loved the development of the world to have happened a little faster, but when it gets going it quickly hits you and speeds up.⁠ ⁠The “twist” was also something I saw coming from almost the beginning but it was still fun to see it unfolding in the end.  And be warned, there will be a little cliffhanger that leaves you wanting the next story to come sooner rather than later.

I am definitely looking forward for more from JLA in this genre and this series!⁠

 

spacer

What did you think of our review?
Let us know your thoughts in the comment box below!

spacer

READING ORDER & BUY LINKS

Click on the covers to buy the books

spacer

About Jennifer L. Armentrout

Jennifer L Armentrout, New York Times and # 1 International Bestselling author Jennifer lives in Charles Town, West Virginia. All the rumors you’ve heard about her state aren’t true. When she’s not hard at work writing. she spends her time reading, watching really bad zombie movies, pretending to write, hanging out with her husband and her Jack Russell Loki.

She is the owner of ApollyCon and The Origin Event, the successful annual events that features over hundred bestselling authors in Young Adult, New Adult, and Adult Fiction, panels, parties, and more.

spacer

 ♡ Don’t want to miss any of our posts? ♡ 

ARC Review: From Blood and Ash by Jennifer L. Armentrout
Follow me

Similar Posts

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
3 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Elizabeth

Awesome! I just put this on my tbr 🙂

Timitra

Love the sound of it. Thanks for sharing your thoughts Francesca

Amy R

Thanks for the review.