Review: Straight Up Love by Lexi Ryan

Share this!

Review: Straight Up Love by Lexi Ryan
Straight Up Love

3.5 Stars


Book Info

Released: May 14 2018
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Series: The Boys of Jackson Harbor #2
Published by Self Published
Narrator: Summer Roberts, Tyler Donne
Length: 9 hrs and 39 mins
Pages: 282
Format: Audiobook
 

“…such an entertaining read.”
~ Under the Covers

It’s been about a year since I read the first book in this series and honestly when I finished reading that one I jumped right away into the sample of book 2 and I was itching to read it.  I didn’t, and then forgot all about it until now.  When it was time to pick this up I was so excited!

This is a friends to lovers romance set in a small town.  Our heroine just turned 30 and decides that it’s time for her to think about becoming a mother.  She has no boyfriend and no prospects, she’s divorced, she has a good job as a teacher and part-time bartender.  She’s ready to go at this alone.  Her options are simple.  A sperm bank or asking her best friend for help.  Jake has been in love with her for many years.  They were childhood best friends and he hadn’t realized his feelings had turned into more until he had basically lost her because she started dating someone else.  And then she married that guy.  He’s waited all that time and will use this opportunity to give this one last try to make her his.

I really liked the friendship dynamics between Jake and Ava.  I also saw the sparks flying before the whole baby talk started.  In a way, I was expecting a lot more sizzling chemistry but this was more laid back.  I probably liked Jake more than Ava.  She seemed to play the clueless card but I just wasn’t buying that.  And at times I felt as if she was playing with his feelings.  Jake on his hand suffered a bit of being too much of a puppy dog when it came to her. I would’ve loved to see him a little more alpha.

But overall, this was such an entertaining read.  I love the family and friends vibe of these books.  We get to know all the side characters well as we go along with the books in the series, which I think it’s a very important element. The author’s writing style also works well for me and for this romcom genre.  I think this is a great series for fans of Meghan Quinn or Jaci Burton.  I’ll definitely try not to let another year go by before I pick up book 3.

 

spacer

What did you think of our review?
Let us know your thoughts in the comment box below!

spacer

READING ORDER & BUY LINKS

Click on the covers to buy the books

spacer

About Lexi Ryan

New York Times and USA Today bestselling romance author Lexi Ryan’s novels have been described as intense, emotional, and wickedly sexy. A former college professor, she now writes full-time from her home in Indiana, where she lives with her husband, two children, and a neurotic dog. Find her on Facebook or Twitter to chat about books, TV, and her children’s latest antics.

spacer

 ♡ Don’t want to miss any of our posts? ♡ 

Follow me

Share this!

Similar Posts

Subscribe
Notify of
guest

4 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Elizabeth

Great character detail.

Amy R

Thanks for the review, I enjoy this trope and I also like the narrators mentioned.

Joseph

Excellent character !

Timitra

Thanks Francesca for the review