If You Love This…Fantasy Romance

Posted January 23, 2019 by Suzanne in Front Page, Reading on the Dark Side, Under the Covers / 6 Comments

FANTASY ROMANCE

Fantasy romance isn’t a genre that you see around very often. There are plenty of fantastic straight up fantasy genre books around, but when you wanted something where romance somehow plays a pivotal role, then it can be slim pickings. However, in recent times there have been some great fantasy romances out and whilst reading one of them, it reminded me of a series I read years ago.

The new release I was reading was Phoenix Unbound by Grace Draven. In this series we are introduced to a new world, a world where a cruel Empire rife with corruption carries out atrocities on its people. Gilene is a village woman and a fire witch who knows the Empire’s cruelty intimately. As is Azarion; he’s a slave and gladiator who has managed to survive in the pits, and the Empress’ depraved attentions for the last 10 years. But now he has an escape plan and Gilene is part of it whether she likes it or not.

This was a good read, it mixes all the great things about fantasy; a magical new world, action and political intrigue with romance. The romance builds through the book as Azarion and Gilene travel together, she as his hostage…at first. He needs her, as a fire witch, to help build his place back up in his clan. His clan regard fire witches as priestesses of their goddess and having one with him will be seen as a blessing. I loved reading the struggle between them even as they slowly tumble into love.

This book is also great if you like your fantasy to have some action in it. There was plenty of swords and sorcery, as well as a few epic battles to get your blood pumping. This series is just beginning but it looks like it is going to be an exciting, dangerous and romantic journey.

And, if you love it, you are bound to love this…

If you like the sound of the Fallen Empire series, then you need to give Elizabeth Vaughan’s Chronicles of the Warlands a try. Draven’s series bears a few similarities to this series which may appeal:

  • Lara, the heroine in Vaughan’s series also has a skill that makes her very valuable to Keir, the hero. Much like Gilene’s abilities as a fire witch made her essential to Azarion.
  • Lara’s skill as a healer is treasured by her hero’s people. In both books, the heroines abilities prompt the heroes into finding a way to capture them.
  • The heroes in both series also resemble each other as they are from a nomadic tribe nation of horsemen who live on grassy plains.

Of course there are also plenty of differences, Vaughan’s series is more romantic and less gritty then Draven’s and the hero and heroine’s characters are vastly different. But it bears enough resemblance that if you liked one then you should definitely give the other a try. Although it has been years since I have read these books, I did really enjoy them, they were romantic, had some action and humour – something that Draven’s book was lacking – as well as some really good secondary characters.

At this point I should probably give a disclaimer! I have only read the first 3 books in Elizabeth Vaughan’s series all of which follow the same couple. The other books in the series focus on other characters that are present in the series and they are still romances. I really need to get round to catching up!

Fallen Empire by Grace Draven

 

Read our reviews of this series

Chronicles of the Warlands by Elizabeth Vaughan

 

 ♡ Don’t want to miss any of our posts? ♡ 

Follow me

Suzanne

Blogger/Reviewer at Under the Covers Book Blog
Gosh, we all seem to be admitting our ages…and I hate that I am at the point in life when admitting my age is a “thing”…whodda thunk it? I was kind of hoping I would remain 21 forever. However, I have moved out of that New Adult stage of my life and am now strictly in the Contemporary Romance age zone of 28. I would prefer to be in an Urban Fantasy arena, but I don’t think I own enough black leather. However, I could probably squeeze into some PNR, I am fully prepared to give a horn job to my favourite demon, or suck on my sexy vamps…fangs and I am definitely up for some heavy petting with some fine looking shifters. Than again their’s always Sci Fi…I am fully prepared to do the right thing and help some poor alien race with more 6 packs than a supermarket repopulate their planet. Not that I am loose woman or anything.

Annnnnd I will stop myself there, before I start waxing lyrical about my love of historical romance and fantasy as well; no one needs to know about my elf fantasies. As you can tell, I adore and day dream about most romance genres, and my three big loves are 1) reading about romance 2) writing about romance and 3) talking about romance with my gals. Which, is why I love Under the Covers so much, I get all my bookish needs satisfied and don’t get judged when I talk about my favourite characters like they are real people. Which they are right?
Suzanne
Follow me

Related Posts

If You Love This…Fantasy Romance

Tags: , , ,

releasecalendarbanner

Under the Covers Book Blog Comment Policy
Please read our comment policy here.

6
Leave a Reply

avatar
6 Comment threads
0 Thread replies
1 Followers
 
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
6 Comment authors
MirlouRiniTimitraTarynElizabeth Recent comment authors
  Subscribe  
newest oldest most voted
Notify of
Carissa
Guest
Carissa

yes! my library has the first 4 books of Elizabeth’s series!

Elizabeth
Guest
Elizabeth

I have phoenix unbound on my tbr but elizabeth vaughn’s series sounds good too. Thanks for comparisons.

Taryn
Guest
Taryn

I loved the Elizabeth Vaughn series. I devoured War Prize. It had a similar vibe to it as Kristen Ashley’s The Golden Dynasty. I read the next two but need to catch up on the rest. I’ve never read Grace Draven. My TBR list just got bigger. Thanks.

Timitra
Guest
Timitra

Thanks Suzanne!

Rini
Guest
Rini

I love the Warlands series!

Mirlou
Guest
Mirlou

I loved the Elizabeth Vaughn series.