ARC Review: Stripped by Zoey Castile

Posted August 30, 2018 by Francesca in Reviews / 5 Comments

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.
ARC Review: Stripped by Zoey Castile
Stripped
by Zoey Castile

3 Stars

BOOK INFO


Released: August 28, 2018
Series: Happy Endings #1
Published by Kensington Publishing Corporation
Pages: 304
Format: eARC
 

“STRIPPED is perfect for fans of Magic Mike!”
~ Under the Covers

I picked this up totally on a whim because of the cover and thinking this was a debut author.  While this is, I believe, the first actual romance the author has written, she’s released popular YA books before under a different pen name.  Also full disclaimer, I’m not the biggest fan of escort/stripper books.  But I’m always curious to read them hoping the next one will make me feel differently.

The premise of STRIPPED really sounded interesting.  The male stripper that loves his job falls for the fifth grade teacher that happens to live in his apartment building.  This story is set in New York and, living here myself, I loved seeing the city come to life through the pages.  One other thing that I found the author did exceedingly well was writing the actual stripping scenes.  She made you feel like you were really… there! LOL

Now onto some of my less than ideal thoughts.  The story is a sweet one.  Too sweet, maybe, for the environment and my expectations.  That’s both a good and a bad thing for me, because while it didn’t meet my expectations it really was a sweet one to read.  And probably my favorite character in this whole thing was the hero, Zac Fallon, which was another shocking bit for me.  I was expecting to really like the heroine and I just never did.  She felt very wishy-washy in my opinion and I didn’t like her interactions with her best friend while she was supposed to be her maid of honor.  Robyn came across as very self-centered and confused.

Ok, but back on track with this review so I don’t digress into a rant.  The best way I can describe this book is truly as the movie Magic Mike.  STRIPPED is perfect for fans of Magic Mike!  From the internal struggle of the main character, to the boss of the team, and so on.  While it doesn’t copy the movie, it very closely resembles the feel you get from it.  So if you’re curious about a book like that, then definitely keep this series on your radar.

spacer

What did you think of our review?
Let us know your thoughts in the comment box below!

spacer

READING ORDER & BUY LINKS

Click on the covers to buy the books

spacer

About Zoey Castile

Zoey Castile was born in Ecuador and raised in Queens, New York. She started writing in her teens and pursued that love in her studies at Hunter College and the University of Montana. For nearly a decade, she worked as a bartender, hostess, and manager in New York City's nightlife.

spacer

 ♡ Don’t want to miss any of our posts? ♡ 

Francesca
Follow me

Francesca

Blogger/Reviewer at Under the Covers Book Blog
I’m a 30 something sun lover living in the Big Apple (read New York).I’m a book and coffee addict and lover of all things elephants.

I get easily distracted by pictures of sexy guys and have tons of book boyfriends.I keep all my alpha males chained to my basement and guard them fiercely.*Back off bitches*I like to see Jason Momoa as a lot of those boyfriends, because ….. mmmmmmm JASON.MOMOA!

I’m a part time graphic designer (yes, everything you see on UTC has been done by me), run my husband's business from home and on a good day I’m a self appointed superwoman (she who can do it all).I love blogging with my girls and I couldn’t do it any other way!My first love is everything paranormal, but in the past few years I’ve re-learned to love contemporary romance.Every once in a while I like to mix things up with a historical romance, a steampunk or an LGBT book.Because I need variety to avoid book slumps.I don’t always need an HEA although I prefer one, and I love authors that can rip my heart out and make me ugly cry.
Francesca
Follow me

Latest posts by Francesca (see all)

Related Posts

ARC Review: Stripped by Zoey Castile

Tags: , , , , , , ,

releasecalendarbanner

Under the Covers Book Blog Comment Policy
Please read our comment policy here.

5
Leave a Reply

avatar
5 Comment threads
0 Thread replies
0 Followers
 
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
5 Comment authors
TimitraKathy ValentineElizabethKathleen BylsmaAmy R Recent comment authors
  Subscribe  
newest oldest most voted
Notify of
Amy R
Guest
Amy R

Thanks for the review, I have this on hold at my library.

Kathleen Bylsma
Guest
Kathleen Bylsma

Fun review…one of my mystery author’s writes so well of the Seattle area, I feel back home…as a rule, I generally avoid reading books set in areas I know ell because blowing the locations out annoys me… Thanks for the review…

Elizabeth
Guest
Elizabeth

It is a pretty hot cover and zac seems like a good hero to read about.

Kathy Valentine
Guest
Kathy Valentine

Great review Francesca,shared on all my socials!!

Timitra
Guest
Timitra

Thanks for the review Francesca