If you love this…Historical Paranormal

Posted August 24, 2018 by Annie in Front Page, Reading on the Dark Side, Under the Covers / 7 Comments

HISTORICAL PARANORMAL

As an avid reader of Romance, I really love mixing things up and reading all the subgenres within Romance. However, in some special circumstances, you have some series like the ones that I’m going to talk about today that have a mix of genres within one series or book. The two in particular that I want to talk about today are Historical and Paranormal. Both genres are favorites of mine but I especially find it fascinating when the two are paired together. Something really magical happens and I feel like both genres have a lot to offer when they are blended well together.

One of my favorite series that does this mix of Historical and Paranormal well is the Darkest London series by Kristen Callihan. Not only are the covers just gorgeous but the characters and world are complex and intriguing.

This series features everything from vampires to shifters and demons so there’s really something there for everyone. As you can expect from the series title, it’s set in Historical London, which I think makes it all the more exciting. Along with the sexy accents and amazing backdrop, it all comes together in a very alluring package.

So, if you have already read and loved the Darkest London series by Kristen Callihan, then you might also enjoy Jenn Bennet’s Roaring Twenties series.

Jenn Bennett is most known for her Arcadia Bell series, however, this series is my favorite of hers. Much like the Darkest London series by Callihan, it features some paranormal characters, including ghosts and other magical things. The main difference is that this book is set in the twenties. Now, I don’t know about you, but I love the twenties but find that not many people have featured this era in many books. That is why I was so intrigued by this series when it first came out. It’s also set in San Francisco, so it does have a unique feel to it that sets it apart from the other Historical Paranormal series out there.

Both series blend the genres so perfectly, creating a wonderful balance that I think many readers will enjoy. So if you’re ever in the mood for something that takes it up another notch, I would highly suggest checking out both these series if you haven’t already.

DARKEST LONDON

Annie’s reviews here

ROARING TWENTIES

Annie’s reviews here

 ♡ Don’t want to miss any of our posts? ♡ 

Annie
Follow me

Annie

Blogger/Reviewer at Under the Covers Book Blog
I’m an obsessive makeup junkie and a compulsive reader. I like to call Under the Covers Book Blog my stomping ground, but when I’m not talking about books with my girls, I write New Adult Dystopian and Contemporary Romance under the pen name Ana Jolene (http://www.anajolene.com). I also work as a virtual assistant for authors. You also can find me as a reviewer and columnist for FreshFiction.com.

When it comes to books I’m pretty adventurous. I read everything from Paranormal Romance to Urban Fantasy, New Adult, BDSM, LGBT fiction, Cozy Mysteries and even YA. If it’s got the littlest trace of romance in it, then I’ll probably read it. That being said, my all-time favorite authors are J.R. Ward and Karen Marie Moning.

When I’m not submerged in a good book, you can find me musing about makeup and planners or dreaming about Kpop boys and beaches. Until then, check out my reviews and let’s talk books!
Annie
Follow me

Related Posts

Tags: , ,

releasecalendarbanner

Under the Covers Book Blog Comment Policy
Please read our comment policy here.

7
Leave a Reply

avatar
5 Comment threads
2 Thread replies
0 Followers
 
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
6 Comment authors
Under the Covers Book BlogSophia RoseKathy ValentineElizabethTimitra Recent comment authors
  Subscribe  
newest oldest most voted
Notify of
Amy R
Guest
Amy R

I have a few Darkest London books on my TBR pile and I just saw that the Roaring Twenties series audio is included in the Audible Romance Package.

Under the Covers Book Blog
Admin
Under the Covers Book Blog

I would definitely try them out! Not sure how they are in audio, but I loved reading them!

Timitra
Guest
Timitra

I need to finish reading the Darkest London series, also need to get the Roaring Twenties series

Elizabeth
Guest
Elizabeth

I have book 1 of the darkest london series on my tbr

Kathy Valentine
Guest
Kathy Valentine

Fabulous recommendations annie!!! I’ve put both of these series on my tbr gr list!! I bought Entwined and Amber by Kristen Callihan!!! Ty! So much,I didn’t know about these writers!!! Shared on all my socials!!

Under the Covers Book Blog
Admin
Under the Covers Book Blog

Thanks for sharing and I hope you enjoy the stories!

Sophia Rose
Guest
Sophia Rose

Great picks! I loved both those series.