Read This After You Watch Interview with the Vampire

Share this!

Gothic fantasy meets vampire fiction with a dash of romance in this dark tale of politics, intrigue and nobility. The House of Commarre by Kristen Painter is an epic dark paranormal ride perfect for fans of Anne Rice and a must read after you watch Interview with the Vampire. Keep on reading for our series guide on this finished must read urban fantasy series.

House of Comarre by Kristen Painter

This post contains affiliate links. That means we receive a small commission at no cost to you from any purchases you make through these links.

House of Comarre by Kristen Painter Series Order

Sometimes the lines between paranormal romance and urban fantasy can blend a little.  I think that’s one of my favorite things when reading a solid paranormal story.  I don’t want a washed out world that seems too cookie cutter just to be overpowered by the romance.  Instead, what I want is something to leave me a little breathless thinking about the possibilities of this world really existing.  Questioning if there’s an underground society of paranormal activity really going on today.  And few series manage to convey that sensory feel.

But one that I think managed to create a world like that is the House of Comarre series by Kristen Painter.  While I don’t think each book was perfect in and of itself, and the characters certainly make you want to throttle them at times, the world building is beautifully unique and the story is undoubtedly masterful.

How I found it

I don’t see this series around a lot, even when it was first released.  I remember being at Comic Con in NY and listening to the author talk about her first book, BLOOD RIGHTS, and it gave me all the kick ass vibes.  That, combined with the beautiful cover made me want to read it.  And let me tell you, the world building to me lives up to the beautiful cover.

Chrysabelle was born to feed vampires and live a life of servitude and Malkolm is a vampire cursed to kill anyone he feeds from.  Dark, gritty, intense… this series is packed with intrigue, politics, danger and raw sensuality.  But while giving you a taste of this amazing world, you also get to follow in the steps of these two main characters as they fall in love.  A deep love that has to beat all odds.  Plus, the side characters are pretty great too. Right after you watch Interview with the Vampire you’ll want to jump right into this series!

Book series House of Comarre perfect to read after you watch Interview with the Vampire

Read our interview with author Kristen Painter to learn more about the House of Comarre series. The perfect series to read if you are looking for something with the same vibe after you watch Interview with the Vampire

Reading Order

The House of Comarre series by Kristen Painter is pretty straight forward when it comes to the reading order. There isn’t a lot of confusion in regards to that. However, it is imperative that you read it in order. This is not a series that you can pick up in the middle. Let’s dive into the order!

Book cover Blood Rights by Kristen Painter

Blood Rights
by Kristen Painter

Book 1 in the House of Comarre series

Gothic fantasy meets vampire fiction in this debut novel from Kristen Painter — full of politics, intrigue, and blood.

Born into a life of secrets and service, Chrysabelle’s body bears the telltale marks of a comarré — a special race of humans bred to feed vampire nobility. When her patron is murdered, she becomes the prime suspect, which sends her running into the mortal world. . .and into the arms of Malkolm, an outcast vampire cursed to kill every being from whom he drinks.

Now, Chrysabelle and Malkolm must work together to stop a plot to merge the mortal and supernatural worlds. If they fail, a chaos unlike anything anyone has ever seen will threaten to reign.

Book cover Flesh and Blood by Kristen Painter

Flesh and Blood
by Kristen Painter

Book 2 in the House of Comarre series

With the ring of sorrows still missing, and the covenant between othernaturals and mortals broken, Chrysabelle and Malkolm’s problems are just beginning. Chrysabelle still owes Malkolm for his help, but fulfilling that debt means returning to Corvinestri, the hidden vampire city neither of them is welcome in.

The discovery that Chrysabelle has a brother could mean reneging on her promise to Malkolm, something that might make him angry enough to loose the beast living inside him. And fulfilling her vow could prove devastating for Chrysabelle — especially when you throw in power hungry witches, dead fringe vampires, and the Kubai Mata.

Book cover Forbidden Blood by Kristen Painter

Forbidden Blood
by Kristen Painter

Note: This is often labeled at Book 0.5 and while you can read it as an introduction to the world and the series, I do think it’s best to be read this after book 2. Especially since this story is not about the main characters and you’ll have a better grasp of the meaning of this novella this way.

Set in the world of the House of Comarré, Kristen Painter gives us a new novella about the price of freedom.

Maris’s life as a comarré has come down to three options: escape her patron and spend the rest of her days looking over her shoulder, fight him for her freedom with the understanding it could mean her death or undergo dangerous experimentation to transform her blood into something even more powerful.

Before she can make a decision, she discovers the vampire who’s been charged with sunproofing her blood isn’t so fond of her patron either. In fact, Dominic is unlike any vampire she’s ever met, but is she desperate enough to put her trust in another noble? Her heart says yes. . .

Book cover Bad Blood by Kristen Painter

Bad Blood
by Kristen Painter

Book 3 in the House of Comarre series

With the ring of sorrows still missing, and the covenant between othernaturals and mortals broken, Chrysabelle and Malkolm’s problems are just beginning. Chrysabelle still owes Malkolm for his help, but fulfilling that debt means returning to Corvinestri, the hidden vampire city neither of them is welcome in.

The discovery that Chrysabelle has a brother could mean reneging on her promise to Malkolm, something that might make him angry enough to loose the beast living inside him. And fulfilling her vow could prove devastating for Chrysabelle — especially when you throw in power hungry witches, dead fringe vampires, and the Kubai Mata.

Book cover Out for Blood by Kristen Painter

Out for Blood
by Kristen Painter

Book 4 in the House of Comarre series

After nearly dying at the hands of the Aurelian, Chrysabelle finds new determination to move beyond life as a comarré. That is until the Kubai Mata bring a new task to her doorstep: rescue the child Tatiana has kidnapped, or Mal becomes enemy number one.

Book cover Last Blood by Kristen Painter

Last Blood
by Kristen Painter

Book 5 in the House of Comarre series

The fantastic final novel of the House of Comarré series, full of lust, betrayal, and intrigue.

In the final showdown between the forces of dark and light, Mal and Chrysabelle face not only Tatiana, but the ancient evil that now controls her: the Castus Sanguis. Chrysabelle gathers her friends and family around her, forming a plan to bring an end to the chaos surrounding them. But the Castus is the most powerful being they’ve ever come up against. Defeating such evil will require a great sacrifice from someone on the side of light.

One of them will change sides. One of them will die. No one will survive unscathed. Can Chrysabelle save those she cares about or will that love get her killed? What price is she willing to pay to draw last blood?

in conclusion, read this after you watch interview with the vampire

If you like your paranormal on the edgier side and haven’t read this series, you’re definitely missing out.  If you finished your binge watch of Interview with the Vampire, pick this up! The great thing is you can binge read them all because this is a finished series.  And let me tell you, it’s one that ends on a high note and leaves you satisfied.

If you want more…

Updated on October 7 2022

Pin it for later

House of Comarre by Kristen Painter
If You Like Interview with the Vampire (TV Show) read Blood Rights by Kristen Painter
Follow me

Share this!

Similar Posts

Subscribe
Notify of
guest

14 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Timitra

Oooh these sound good, thanks for the rec Francesca!

Lexi

I’m one of them, I added these to my TBR list when they came out and STILL haven’t picked them up! I need to fix that.

Kathy valentine

I’ve had this series on my the list since last year!!! I’m moving it to the top!!!! Awesome romance rewind read Francesca!! Shared on all my socials!!

Elizabeth

The covers are gorgeous

Darynda

Kristen is amazing! I need to finish this series. So good.

Amy R

Adding to my wishlist.

Bube

Definitely I will read this series! 🙂

Timitra

Oooh these sound good, thanks for the rec Francesca!

Amy R

Adding to my wishlist.

Lexi

I’m one of them, I added these to my TBR list when they came out and STILL haven’t picked them up! I need to fix that.

Darynda

Kristen is amazing! I need to finish this series. So good.

Bube

Definitely I will read this series! 🙂

Elizabeth

The covers are gorgeous

Kathy valentine

I’ve had this series on my the list since last year!!! I’m moving it to the top!!!! Awesome romance rewind read Francesca!! Shared on all my socials!!