Review: Love and Gelato by Jenna Evans Welch

Posted December 29, 2017 by Annie in Reviews / 10 Comments

Review: Love and Gelato by Jenna Evans Welch
Love and Gelato
by Jenna Evans Welch

4 Stars

BOOK INFO


Released: May 3 2016
Published by Simon Pulse
Format: eARC
 

“I felt like it was this depth that really made this book.”
~ Under the Covers

Fans of Stephanie Perkins, Jenny Han and Sarah Ockler have a reason to rejoice. LOVE AND GELATO is a sweet, emotional read that is sure to warm your hearts. This is the first time in a long time that I’ve read a book like this. Although it is your typical sweet YA Contemporary, the author does a great job of injecting the book with some emotional elements as well.

After losing her mother to cancer, Lina moves to Tuscany where she is supposed to live with her father that she never knew. It’s obviously a new experience for her and obstacles are around every corner as she tries to get reacquainted with everything. The beginning happens very fast, which I like and dislike because while I can appreciate the faster pace, I think it would’ve been nice to see Lina in her own environment a little bit more first before she had to move. I think it would allow readers to really sympathize with her a lot more.

Still, I do think Jenna Evans Welch writes well. It’s simple and eloquent and since I listened to this one in audiobook, I would also suggest trying it out in audio format. The narrator does a great job of capturing Lina’s emotions well. I felt like it was this depth that really made this book. So while the unique setting and love story is wonderful, it really came down to the emotions explored in this book. I will definitely be reading more of Welch’s books in the future.

spacer

What did you think of our review?
Let us know your thoughts in the comment box below!

spacer

spacer

spacer

 ♡ Don’t want to miss any of our posts? ♡ 

Follow me

Annie

Blogger/Reviewer at Under the Covers Book Blog
I’m an obsessive makeup junkie and a compulsive reader. I like to call Under the Covers Book Blog my stomping ground, but when I’m not talking about books with my girls, I write New Adult Dystopian and Contemporary Romance under the pen name Ana Jolene (http://www.anajolene.com). I also work as a virtual assistant for authors. You also can find me as a reviewer and columnist for FreshFiction.com.

When it comes to books I’m pretty adventurous. I read everything from Paranormal Romance to Urban Fantasy, New Adult, BDSM, LGBT fiction, Cozy Mysteries and even YA. If it’s got the littlest trace of romance in it, then I’ll probably read it. That being said, my all-time favorite authors are J.R. Ward and Karen Marie Moning.

When I’m not submerged in a good book, you can find me musing about makeup and planners or dreaming about Kpop boys and beaches. Until then, check out my reviews and let’s talk books!
Annie
Follow me

Related Posts

Tags: , , , , ,

releasecalendarbanner

Under the Covers Book Blog Comment Policy
Please read our comment policy here.

10
Leave a Reply

avatar
10 Comment threads
0 Thread replies
0 Followers
 
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
5 Comment authors
Amy RKathy ValentineDarynda JonesTimitraElizabeth Recent comment authors
  Subscribe  
newest oldest most voted
Notify of
Elizabeth
Guest
Elizabeth

Great review!

Timitra
Guest
Timitra

Thanks for sharing your thoughts Annie

Darynda Jones
Guest
Darynda Jones

I’ve heard great things about this book! Thanks for the review, Annie!

Elizabeth
Guest
Elizabeth

Great review!

Kathy Valentine
Guest
Kathy Valentine

Great review Annie!! Shared on all my socials!!!

Timitra
Guest
Timitra

Thanks for sharing your thoughts Annie

Darynda Jones
Guest
Darynda Jones

I’ve heard great things about this book! Thanks for the review, Annie!

Kathy Valentine
Guest
Kathy Valentine

Great review Annie!! Shared on all my socials!!!

Amy R
Guest
Amy R

Thanks for the review, adding to my wishlist.

Amy R
Guest
Amy R

Thanks for the review, adding to my wishlist.