If You Love This… Richelle Mead

Posted December 27, 2017 by Annie in Reading on the Dark Side, Under the Covers / 12 Comments

I’ve recently discovered this new series by Jennifer Estep that I’ve fallen in love with. It’s a spin off from her Mythos Academy series and although it’s probably best if you read the series in order, I haven’t and I haven’t had a problem with understanding the world.

The first book, SPARTAN HEART, features a character from the previous series, Rory Forsetti. Because of the events in the last book of the series, not a lot of people like her. Her family name is tainted but she is a warrior. And I mean that literally. She’s a Spartan warrior, something I don’t encounter much in books, let alone Young Adult novels but that’s just one of the things I love about this series.

The other thing about this series that I love is the strong voice that Estep has in this series. Rory’s narration reminds me a lot of Rose Hathaway, a fan favorite if you are into Young Adult vampire stories. Although the series captures the essence of different mythologies, I do think that they are comparable.

Rosy is just as badass as Rose is, but she has a more visible vulnerability that makes me sympathize with her more. The settings in both series are set in prestigious, specialized schools for their respective mythologies and of course, there’s always a forbidden love interest that makes everything more interesting.

It’s been a long while since I’ve been excited about a Young Adult series like I am with this series so I’m eager to see what Jennifer Estep has in store next. So if you have enjoyed the Vampire Academy series by Richelle Mead, do make sure that you give the Mythos Academy series by Jennifer Estep a go and let me know what you think!

 

Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead

See my reviews here!

 

Spartan Heart by Jennifer Estep

See my reviews here!

 ♡ Don’t want to miss any of our posts? ♡ 

Annie
Follow me

Annie

Blogger/Reviewer at Under the Covers Book Blog
I’m an obsessive makeup junkie and a compulsive reader. I like to call Under the Covers Book Blog my stomping ground, but when I’m not talking about books with my girls, I write New Adult Dystopian and Contemporary Romance under the pen name Ana Jolene (http://www.anajolene.com). I also work as a virtual assistant for authors. You also can find me as a reviewer and columnist for FreshFiction.com.

When it comes to books I’m pretty adventurous. I read everything from Paranormal Romance to Urban Fantasy, New Adult, BDSM, LGBT fiction, Cozy Mysteries and even YA. If it’s got the littlest trace of romance in it, then I’ll probably read it. That being said, my all-time favorite authors are J.R. Ward and Karen Marie Moning.

When I’m not submerged in a good book, you can find me musing about makeup and planners or dreaming about Kpop boys and beaches. Until then, check out my reviews and let’s talk books!
Annie
Follow me

Related Posts

Tags: , ,

releasecalendarbanner

Under the Covers Book Blog Comment Policy
Please read our comment policy here.

12
Leave a Reply

avatar
10 Comment threads
2 Thread replies
0 Followers
 
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
6 Comment authors
Under the Covers Book BlogTimitraUnder the Covers Book BlogAmy RElizabeth Recent comment authors
  Subscribe  
newest oldest most voted
Notify of
Kathy Valentine
Guest
Kathy Valentine

Great article Annie! I have Spartan Heart on my tbr! Shared on all my socials!!

Darynda Jones
Guest
Darynda Jones

I’m so excited to get to Jennifer’s book! I love her writing. She is one of my faves. Thanks for this post, Annie!

Elizabeth
Guest
Elizabeth

I was interested in the mythos academy but I did not like what mead did with the va series so now I’m not so sure. Thanks for the heads up.

Under the Covers Book Blog
Guest
Under the Covers Book Blog

Obviously it will be different plot wise. But the overall feel is the similar in tone. I hope you give it a shot anyway.

Amy R
Guest
Amy R

I haven’t read either of these authors.

Kathy Valentine
Guest
Kathy Valentine

Great article Annie! I have Spartan Heart on my tbr! Shared on all my socials!!

Darynda Jones
Guest
Darynda Jones

I’m so excited to get to Jennifer’s book! I love her writing. She is one of my faves. Thanks for this post, Annie!

Elizabeth
Guest
Elizabeth

I was interested in the mythos academy but I did not like what mead did with the va series so now I’m not so sure. Thanks for the heads up.

Under the Covers Book Blog
Admin
Under the Covers Book Blog

Obviously it will be different plot wise. But the overall feel is the similar in tone. I hope you give it a shot anyway.

Amy R
Guest
Amy R

I haven’t read either of these authors.

Timitra
Guest
Timitra

Thanks for the rec Annie

Timitra
Guest
Timitra

Thanks for the rec Annie