If You Love This…Sarah Maclean

Posted September 27, 2017 by Suzanne in Reading on the Dark Side, Under the Covers / 6 Comments

Here at UTC, we can be a little old skool. Most of our favourite authors have been around for years and not many new series make it into our auto-buy lists. So, we thought doing these posts would not only help us find new things, but also allow others to find older series that perhaps they haven’t encountered before but which we still hold dear to our heart.

I love a historical romance, it covers such a vast territory, from medieval Scotland, the Wild West to English drawing rooms. You can get something a little different with every choice you make. One of my favourite historical romance’s is Sarah Maclean’s Nine Rules to Break when Romancing a Rake, the reason I love it is because it really makes the heroine stand out. Romance is packed full of unforgettable heroes but mediocre heroines, which is a little sad, so when I find a book where the heroine is the true star of the show it tends to stick with me. And what’s better than a former wallflower suddenly breaking all the rules? It’s funny, it’s romantic, it’s a little different. If you haven’t read it, I recommend that you do, if you have read it than I have found something that was a little reminiscent.

Kimberly Bell’s The Importance of Being Scandalous. My first book by Bell and the first in a new series I loved this tale of a heroine misbehaving and it reminded me a little of Maclean’s Nine Rules. 

 

So, if you love Sarah Maclean, I recommend your try Kimberly Bell (and vice versa), if you haven’t read either authors then you should give them a try.

Love by Numbers series by Sarah Maclean

See my reviews here!

A Tale of Two Sisters series by Kimberly Bell

See my reviews here!

♡ Don’t want to miss any of our posts? ♡ 
Follow Under the Covers: Facebook | Twitter | Tsu | GoodReads | Email 
Suzanne
Follow me

Suzanne

Blogger/Reviewer at Under the Covers Book Blog
Gosh, we all seem to be admitting our ages…and I hate that I am at the point in life when admitting my age is a “thing”…whodda thunk it? I was kind of hoping I would remain 21 forever. However, I have moved out of that New Adult stage of my life and am now strictly in the Contemporary Romance age zone of 28. I would prefer to be in an Urban Fantasy arena, but I don’t think I own enough black leather. However, I could probably squeeze into some PNR, I am fully prepared to give a horn job to my favourite demon, or suck on my sexy vamps…fangs and I am definitely up for some heavy petting with some fine looking shifters. Than again their’s always Sci Fi…I am fully prepared to do the right thing and help some poor alien race with more 6 packs than a supermarket repopulate their planet. Not that I am loose woman or anything.

Annnnnd I will stop myself there, before I start waxing lyrical about my love of historical romance and fantasy as well; no one needs to know about my elf fantasies. As you can tell, I adore and day dream about most romance genres, and my three big loves are 1) reading about romance 2) writing about romance and 3) talking about romance with my gals. Which, is why I love Under the Covers so much, I get all my bookish needs satisfied and don’t get judged when I talk about my favourite characters like they are real people. Which they are right?
Suzanne
Follow me

Related Posts

Tags: , , ,

releasecalendarbanner

Under the Covers Book Blog Comment Policy
Please read our comment policy here.

6
Leave a Reply

avatar
6 Comment threads
0 Thread replies
0 Followers
 
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
6 Comment authors
MoniqueElizabethKathy ValentineAmy RJoanna M Recent comment authors
  Subscribe  
newest oldest most voted
Notify of
Timitra
Guest
Timitra

Thanks for rec Suzanne

Joanna M
Guest
Joanna M

I’d never heard of her before so thank you for the rec 😉

Amy R
Guest
Amy R

Thanks for the recommendation, I haven’t read either author.

Kathy Valentine
Guest
Kathy Valentine

Ty for the recommendation Suzanne!! Shared on my socials!!

Elizabeth
Guest
Elizabeth

I love historical romance! Thanks for the recommendation

Monique
Guest
Monique

Kimberly Bell’s book is genius!