If You Love This…Kate Daniels Series

Posted August 23, 2017 by Suzanne in Reading on the Dark Side, Under the Covers / 9 Comments

Here at UTC, we can be a little old skool. Most of our favourite authors have been around for years and not many new series make it into our auto-buy lists. So, we thought doing these posts would not only help us find new things, but also allow others to find older series that perhaps they haven’t encountered before but which we still hold dear to our heart.

The Kate Daniels series by Ilona Andrews is one of my favourite series. Ever. Ever in the history of the whole wide world. Something about it just hits all my sweet spots; I love the heroine, I love the action, I love the storylines, I love the romance, I love all the characters, I love the world. There’s a lot of love going round for this series. Every time a new book comes out, I settle in with snacks and drinks and don’t, no it’s more than that, I can’t move until it’s finished. Time ceases to have all meaning, whether it takes me 3 hours or 13, I am there right till the end. I am helpless to resist Andrews’ siren call.

However, as much as I would love to, this isn’t a post about me JUST waxing poetic about my long term relationship with the Kate Daniels series. It is also to give those of you who also love (or even just like) this series a recommendation for a series that reminded me of the Kate Daniel series. But in a good way. Not in a plagiarised couldn’t-think-of-their-own-book kind of way. I’m talking about:

Now, I am not saying I love it as much as the Kate Daniels series, my heart is faithful(ish) to that series. But, I do really really really like the Kit Colbana series. It has the same type of UF aura, with a kick ass heroine, who seems weaker than everyone else in the paranormal world, yet through sheer grit, determination and intelligence manages to survive anyway.

So if you love the Kate Daniels series, give the Kit Colbana series a go!

Kate Daniels series by Ilona Andrews

See my reviews here!

Kit Colbana series by J.C. Daniels

See my reviews here!

 

♡ Don’t want to miss any of our posts? ♡ 
Follow Under the Covers: Facebook | Twitter | Tsu | GoodReads | Email 
Follow me

Suzanne

Blogger/Reviewer at Under the Covers Book Blog
Gosh, we all seem to be admitting our ages…and I hate that I am at the point in life when admitting my age is a “thing”…whodda thunk it? I was kind of hoping I would remain 21 forever. However, I have moved out of that New Adult stage of my life and am now strictly in the Contemporary Romance age zone of 28. I would prefer to be in an Urban Fantasy arena, but I don’t think I own enough black leather. However, I could probably squeeze into some PNR, I am fully prepared to give a horn job to my favourite demon, or suck on my sexy vamps…fangs and I am definitely up for some heavy petting with some fine looking shifters. Than again their’s always Sci Fi…I am fully prepared to do the right thing and help some poor alien race with more 6 packs than a supermarket repopulate their planet. Not that I am loose woman or anything.

Annnnnd I will stop myself there, before I start waxing lyrical about my love of historical romance and fantasy as well; no one needs to know about my elf fantasies. As you can tell, I adore and day dream about most romance genres, and my three big loves are 1) reading about romance 2) writing about romance and 3) talking about romance with my gals. Which, is why I love Under the Covers so much, I get all my bookish needs satisfied and don’t get judged when I talk about my favourite characters like they are real people. Which they are right?
Suzanne
Follow me

Related Posts

Tags: , , , , ,

releasecalendarbanner

Under the Covers Book Blog Comment Policy
Please read our comment policy here.

9
Leave a Reply

avatar
9 Comment threads
0 Thread replies
0 Followers
 
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
8 Comment authors
ARC Review: Haunted Blade by J.C. Daniels – Under the Covers Book BlogLisaAmy RDarynda JonesKathy Valentine Recent comment authors
  Subscribe  
newest oldest most voted
Notify of
Sophia Rose
Guest
Sophia Rose

Hey, love your idea to share some similar to your favorites series. I get it. Not a knock-off, but resonates with something you love about Kate Daniels series. I still haven’t tried this series thought I already love the author’s writing and Ilona Andrews.

Karen
Guest
Karen

Thanks for the suggestions, buying book one now!

Angela @ Angel's Guilty Pleasures
Guest
Angela @ Angel's Guilty Pleasures

I like that you are suggesting similar favorites. Thank’s for the suggestion.

Elizabeth
Guest
Elizabeth

Kate daniels is one of my favorites as well. Also, I do really like the kit colbana series.

Kathy Valentine
Guest
Kathy Valentine

Shared on my socials!!

Darynda Jones
Guest
Darynda Jones

These sounds awesome! Thanks!

Amy R
Guest
Amy R

Love both these series, I still need to read book 5 in the Kit Colbana series.

Lisa
Guest
Lisa

Thanks for the suggestion. I’ll keep it in mind.

trackback
ARC Review: Haunted Blade by J.C. Daniels – Under the Covers Book Blog

[…] recently recommended this book in an If You Love This… post, now, after reading the sixth book in the series, I definitely stand by my recommendation. Kit […]