If You Love This… Hidden Legacy series

Posted May 31, 2017 by Francesca in Reading on the Dark Side, Under the Covers / 6 Comments

Here at UTC, we can be a little old skool. Most of our favourite authors have been around for years and not many new series make it into our auto-buy lists. So, we thought doing these posts would not only help us find new things, but also allow others to find older series that perhaps they haven’t encountered before but which we still hold dear to our heart.

If you love the Hidden Legacy series
…try out the Unbound series!

 

When BURN FOR ME first came out, eons ago, I remember being so into the book and at the same time I kept feeling like this fit in the same type of book as the Unbound series by Rachel Vincent.  This was an already finished series (or at least as finished as it’s going to get, I think) that I previously read years ago and I was beyond pumped that we could dive into another world that had some of the same elements and feel while at the same time being completely original.

First we have the heroines.  Nevada in the Hidden Legacy series is an investigator and Liv in BLOOD BOUND (book 1) is a blood tracker.  That is one of my favorite things about this series, is the way blood magic is incorporated into the world building.  Very cool and something I hadn’t quite seen done like this before.  Back to the heroines, they both seem to be looking to solve a mystery that will uncover more lies and secrecy than they thought to get into.  That sort of feel goes throughout the 3 books in Unbound.

Then there’s the world building.  While we are dealing with two different things, they both have magic in a unique way and they both feature people and/or families who hold a lot of power and may seem a bit like the magical Mafia.  The Syndicates in the Unbound series, and the Primes in the Hidden Legacy series.  Add to that the heroes in both series are served with a dash of bad that will leave you questioning if they are on the right or wrong side.

I think the big difference is that the Unbound series has a different couple in each installment and can feel a little more like paranormal romance because of that, however that is just a slight difference since the world building is heavily developed and takes quite a bit of focus of the stories, much like the Hidden Legacy.

So what are you waiting for?  Jump into something a little different!  And at the time of this post, the first book in the Unbound series is only $1.99!

Unbound Series

Here are my reviews of the series

Hidden Legacy Series

Here are our reviews of the series

 

 

spacer

 ♡ Don’t want to miss any of our posts? ♡ 
Follow Under the Covers: Facebook | Twitter | Tsu | GoodReads | Email 

Follow me

Francesca

Blogger/Reviewer at Under the Covers Book Blog
I’m a 30 something sun lover living in the Big Apple (read New York).I’m a book and coffee addict and lover of all things elephants.

I get easily distracted by pictures of sexy guys and have tons of book boyfriends.I keep all my alpha males chained to my basement and guard them fiercely.*Back off bitches*I like to see Jason Momoa as a lot of those boyfriends, because ….. mmmmmmm JASON.MOMOA!

I’m a part time graphic designer (yes, everything you see on UTC has been done by me), run my husband's business from home and on a good day I’m a self appointed superwoman (she who can do it all).I love blogging with my girls and I couldn’t do it any other way!My first love is everything paranormal, but in the past few years I’ve re-learned to love contemporary romance.Every once in a while I like to mix things up with a historical romance, a steampunk or an LGBT book.Because I need variety to avoid book slumps.I don’t always need an HEA although I prefer one, and I love authors that can rip my heart out and make me ugly cry.
Francesca
Follow me

Related Posts

Tags: , , , ,

releasecalendarbanner

Under the Covers Book Blog Comment Policy
Please read our comment policy here.

6
Leave a Reply

avatar
6 Comment threads
0 Thread replies
0 Followers
 
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
6 Comment authors
TimitraKathy ValentineElizabethDarynda JonesJenM Recent comment authors
  Subscribe  
newest oldest most voted
Notify of
Amy R
Guest
Amy R

I’ve only read Burn for Me but I’m looking forward to the other 2 books in the Hidden Legacy series. I’ll have to checkout the Unbound series.

JenM
Guest
JenM

I’ll definitely have to check out Rachel Vincent’s series. The Hidden Legacy books are my top anticipated reads this year. I’m just waiting for the weekend so I can dive into White Hot without being disturbed.

Darynda Jones
Guest
Darynda Jones

Oooo, off to buy the first. Thanks!

Elizabeth
Guest
Elizabeth

Really? Blood bound should have been a dnf for me. I was so disappointed because I devoured vincent’s soul screamers and shifters series, but the pace was slow, the female, liv, got on my nerves, and the other characters were easily forgettable. The world vincent created was interesting, though. Now, the hidden legacy series? I believe it was in the review here that it’s not just that you get wrapped up in the main characters but we want to know more about the other characters as well and can’t wait to see what will happen next. I’ll be sad when… Read more »

Kathy Valentine
Guest
Kathy Valentine

Sounds like a great series,I will check these books out thanks!!! Shared on all my socials!!

Timitra
Guest
Timitra

Thanks for the rec Francesca! Off to add these to my wishlist!