ARC Review: Good Boy by Sarina Bowen and Elle Kennedy

Share this!

I received this book for free from Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.
 
This post contains affiliate links you can use to purchase the book. If you buy the book using that link, I will receive a small commission from the sale.

 
ARC Review: Good Boy by Sarina Bowen and Elle Kennedy
Good Boy

4 Stars


Book Info

Released: January 31st 2017
Series: WAGs #1
 

Recommended Read!

“Melt your heart, adorable.”
~ Under the Covers

When I saw that this series was going to happen I was more than a little excited.  I fell in love with the characters we got to see in the novels HIM and US and just needed to get more.  This first book starts off the series with over the top fun and I couldn’t have been happier.  We got to know Blake in the book US.  He’s We’s teammate and also lives in the same building.  His character was obnoxious and annoying in the most endearing way and I’m happy to say GOOD BOY only accentuates that further.

This story continues a quick affair Blake had with Jamie’s sister when she was in town taking care of her brother while he was sick.  Jess has been the fuck up of her family (or so she’s considered herself) since forever.  Focusing on her career and making something of herself is the only thing she wants right now.  A repeat performance with the goofball and not-so-serious Blake Riley is not in her best interest.  But Blake has other plans and a large tolerance for rejection.

I love how Blake doesn’t fit the mold of the perfect romantic hero.  He can be a bit thick headed sometimes, and some of his ideas made me pause and wonder if he could possibly think they were good ideas for real.  But as I got to see more of him in this book one thing was constant.  He may be a simple guy, but he’s such a sweet and good guy!  Melt your heart, adorable.  From his devotion to his friends, his relentless pursuit of the woman he wants, even his love of animals.  People have taken advantage of that kind and simple heart before and it just made me want to protect him.  While Jess isn’t my typical favorite heroine either, I think she was a great match for Blake.  She’s just feisty enough to fight for him.  And he gives her that uninhibited boost of confidence she needed to overcome the obstacles in her own life.  I had a great time seeing them fall for each other.

For fans of Jamie and Wes, this book starts out with a treat!  We get to see their wedding and it definitely made my heart happy for them.  Definitely you won’t want to miss it!

I’m excited about this new series because I do love the team and all the members we’ve already met.  GOOD BOY was, for sure, a fun and entertaining ride.  With quirky characters that you couldn’t help but be left with a smile on your face.

spacer

spacer

Reading Order & Buy Links

Click on the covers to buy the books

seriesgoodreadsreadourreviews2

spacer

About Sarina Bowen

Sarina Bowen writes steamy, angsty contemporary romance from Vermont's Green Mountains. (Her ancestors began logging and farming Vermont during the 18th century. These were rugged, outdoor types without benefit of a laptop or a good latte. It boggles the mind.)

Sarina enjoys skiing, skating and good food. She lives in Windsor County, Vermont, with her family, eight chickens and too much ski gear and hockey equipment.

About Elle Kennedy

A RITA-award nominated author, Elle Kennedy grew up in the suburbs of Toronto, Ontario, and holds a B.A. in English from York University. From an early age, she knew she wanted to be a writer, and actively began pursuing that dream when she was a teenager.

Elle currently publishes with Harlequin Romantic Suspense, Harlequin Blaze, Samhain Publishing, and NAL. She loves strong heroines and sexy alpha heroes, and just enough heat and danger to keep things interesting!

spacer

What did you think of our review?
Let us know your thoughts in the comment box below!

spacer

 ♡ Don’t want to miss any of our posts? ♡ 
Follow Under the Covers: Facebook | Twitter | Tsu | GoodReads | Email 

Follow me

Share this!

Similar Posts

Subscribe
Notify of
guest

5 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Amy R

Thanks for the review, looking forward to reading Good Boy.

Elizabeth

Wow! Blake sounds awesome. I can’t wait to read more about him.

Timitra

Thanks for the rec Francesca

Lover Of Romance

oh wow…this sounds pretty fabulous. I do love those melt your heart heroes…and they aren’t very common. So I gotta have this one and soon. Lovely review.

Darynda

SWEETEST COVER EVER!!!!!