holidaytraditions

 

It’s that …most wonderful time of the year!  Starting to get cold and we all have some sort of ritual or tradition that we have to have around this time of year to make it complete.  So we’ve asked some of our favorite authors to share with us this week some of their holiday traditions!  Hope you enjoy getting to know them a little better.

Jaci Burton

I love the holidays, and especially Christmas. Since all our kids are grown and gone, and two of them live out of state, we don’t decorate the house that much anymore. But the one thing that makes it feel like Christmas for me is to see Christmas lights.

One of our traditions every year is to take a drive to look at all the lights. There are several neighborhoods that really do an amazing job of light decorating.  We start out by making a stop at the nearest Starbucks so I can get my favorite vanilla latte to keep me warm, and then we begin the journey.

Some people go all out with lawn decorations of twinkling snowmen and reindeer, while others really work the light shows on their houses. It’s fun to see who has moving parts and who has spent a lot of time up on the roof stringing all those lights.  These people put a lot of effort into decorating, and we always appreciate it.

We top off our journey with a trip to Rhema Bible Church, which has an extravaganza of lights—over two million. You can actually park and get out and walk along to view their light spectacular. Here’s a link to check out some photos of their lights: https://www.rhemabiblechurch.com/newsevents-ba/rhema-christmas-lights

It’s really wow-worthy.

There’s something about taking an hour or two to drive around and see all those twinkling lights that signal the holidays to me. Or maybe it’s just my husband and I enjoying some quiet time together that brings me that sense of peace before all the holiday madness begins.

I wish you all a very happy holiday season.

Jaci

spacer

Available Now!

Holiday Traditions: Jaci Burton
Make Me Stay
Book Info

Released: December 1st 2015
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Series: Hope #5
Published by Berkley Jove
Pages: 304
 

The fifth novel of heartwarming passion in the Hope series, from the New York Times bestselling author of the Play-By-Play. Perfect for fans of Jill Shalvis, Rachel Gibson and Bella Andre.

Reid McCormack is back in Hope to renovate the old mercantile. Then he plans to go back to Boston, where he's built a successful career. But beautiful florist Samantha Reasor is a distraction Reid hadn't counted on. Samantha intends to convince Reid that Hope is where his heart has always been, and coming home might be the best choice he could ever make.


spacer

spacer

READING ORDER & BUY LINKS

Click on the covers to buy the books

seriesgoodreads

readourreviews2

spacer

spacer

About Jaci Burton

Jaci Burton is a New York Times and USA Today bestselling, award-winning author of over 50 books. She lives in Oklahoma and when she isn’t on deadline (which is often), she can usually be found wrestling with her uncooperative garden, wrangling her dogs, watching an unhealthy amount of television, or completely losing track of time reading a great book. She’s a total romantic and longs for the happily ever after in every story, which you’ll find in all her books.

spacer

 

giveawayholidaytraditions

 ♡ Don’t want to miss any of our posts? ♡ 
Follow Under the Covers: Facebook | Twitter | Tsu | GoodReads | Email 

Follow Me
Latest posts by Under the Covers Book Blog (see all)

Similar Posts

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
24 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Donna A

I light the candles and spin the dreidle

Elizabeth

On Christmas eve we go to church where the kids put on a play and we sing my favorite hymns.. then we go back to my house, eat, decorate the tree, and exchange gifts while listening to Christmas music and watching a Christmas story

Glittergirl

We look at the lights too. There’s Christmas Eve with my brother and his kids and Christmas Dinner with my family. I love the carols in church and the spirit of love and giving. Thanks for the giveaway! MERRY CHRISTMAS <3

Timitra

One is to watch A Christmas Story together as a family

Joanne B

We open presents on Christmas Eve while the Yule Log in on in the background. The next morning, we have a big breakfast then watch a Christmas movie marathon.

Cathy

We have a family get together on Christmas Eve where we all come together and bring an appetizer and a dessert. Its a chance to sit and visit and just BE with family. It’s great.

Sara gronholm

Too cute! I love the snow and all the lights

Kathleen Bylsma

Putting up the tree Christmas eve while listening to “A Christmas Carol”

Diane Sallans

We enjoy going to the town’s Christmas Eve carol sing around the town green, the a candlelight church service.

Maria D.

Fun post! We used to go and see the “light” shows a lot more when I was younger – these days it’s harder and harder to find ones in my area that are together and not really spaced out. It was a fun tradition though when we were kids

Susan T.

Seeing the neighborhood lights.

Maria Theresa Santos

dinner with my family and exchanging gifts with my nieces and nephew

Jennifer Schaber

Christmas Eve dinner followed by midnight mass and opening presents on Christmas morning after Santa comes for all of the nieces and nephews.

Andra

Decorating the Christmas tree. All the family getting together and celebrating Christmas. Exchanging gifts and singing carols.

Laura Lovejoy Brunk

Open presents Christmas Eve after a BIG dinner Allll the family. Than brunch and stocking during a Christmas movie marathon.

Ada

We always get together and bake cookies

We do Christmas Eve gift where everyone gets to open one gift.

Irma J

Nothing special. Decorating and baking with the family.

Amy R

My side of the family comes to my house on Christmas day; we eat, open presents and eat some more.

Bube

Baking with my mother and spending time with my wonderful family 🙂

EC

Noche buena. Or a little midnight snack as Christmas arrives. Also done as the New Year begins.

Sue G.

We cut down our Christmas tree every year. I collect ornaments and it is fun decorating the tree with them.

Anita H.

Big dinner followed by putting up the tree and decorating the house while singing (badly) Christmas songs

lea

Baking and spending time with my family