ARC Review: Between a Vamp and a Hard Place by Jessica Sims

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.
 
This post contains affiliate links you can use to purchase the book. If you buy the book using that link, I will receive a small commission from the sale.

 
ARC Review: Between a Vamp and a Hard Place by Jessica Sims
Between a Vamp and a Hard Place

3 Stars


Book Info

Released: December 29th 2015
Series: Midnight Liaisons #5
Published by Pocket Books
Pages: 384
 

“The humor was still there, so if you want a fun distraction then give this a go!”
~ Under the Covers

Let me start this by saying I’m a fan of this series because it’s the right kind of fun and light paranormal romance that I used to love reading about.  This particular book though, was probably my least favorite in the series.  That’s not to say it wasn’t entertaining to read, but I did find myself a bit uninterested and skimming parts of it.

The premise of the story with 2 girls traveling to Venice to spend a month going through the antiques in an apartment so they can try and sell them and instead finding a coffin with a 600 year old sleeping vampire was a lot of fun.  As a matter of fact, when I started this book I thought I would definitely be enjoying it a lot!

But I think for me the characters didn’t quite get me excited.  This vampire that has been sleeping for centuries and now has to discover what electricity is, or how to use a cellphone, I was expecting a “KNIGHT IN SHINING ARMOR” and that he was not.  Our heroine, as much as she wants to come across as independent and kick ass, continues having all these reservations about the feeding and biting that at one point I didn’t understand anymore.

Nevertheless, the embark in this quest to find out who staked him and wants him dead now and their bond is a cute progress to the story.  While this was fun to read, I feel it will be one of those stories I struggle to remember later one because not much about it stood out.  The humor was still there, so if you want a fun distraction then give this a go!  I think this series is perfect for fans of Katie MacAlister dragon books, and especially this one as it finds our main characters traveling through Europe.

spacer

spacer

Reading Order & Buy Links

Click on the covers to buy the books

seriesgoodreads

readourreviews2

spacer

About Jessica Sims

Jessica Sims lives in Texas. She hates writing a bio, so something cool will undoubtedly go here later when she actually thinks of something interesting to write. She has some cats, but what writer doesn’t? She plays video games and confesses to reading comic books. And she likes writing, but that one was pretty obvious.

spacer

What did you think of our review?
Let us know your thoughts in the comment box below!

spacer

 ♡ Don’t want to miss any of our posts? ♡ 
Follow Under the Covers: Facebook | Twitter | Tsu | GoodReads | Email 

Follow me

Similar Posts

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
8 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Kar

This series looks fun, I’m going to have to check it out thank you!!

Timitra

Thanks Francesca for the review

Sophia Rose

I look forward to reading this series of books. I love the humor aspect. Sorry this one didn’t grab you as much as the others.

Elizabeth

i love katie mac!…thanks for the recommendation

This is actually standalone not part of the series (per Sims). I enjoyed this one. Sims always manages to bring a fun and sexy time.

Amy R

Thanks for the review, I wasn’t a fan of the first few books and didn’t continue with this series.

[…] humor was still there, so if you want a fun distraction then give this a go!” ~ Under the Covers Read full review | Purchase on […]

Kathy Valentine

Another great review Francesca!! Shared!