ARC Review: First Frost by Sarah Addison Allen

Share this!

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.
This post contains affiliate links you can use to purchase the book. If you buy the book using that link, I will receive a small commission from the sale.

ARC Review: First Frost by Sarah Addison Allen
First Frost

5 Stars

Book Info

Released: January 20, 2015
Series: Waverley Family #2
Pages: 304
Format: eARC


“.. they way she describes things appeals to all the senses…” ~ Under the Covers

If you have visited Bascom, North Carolina then you need to book yourself a trip. It sounds expensive, but all you have to do is pick up the fist book in the series Garden Spells and you will be introduced to a host of uniquely odd and magical characters who guarantee that your stay will be interesting and entice you to visit for a little longer.

In First Frost we are brought back to Bascom and into the lives of the Waverley sisters ten years after the events in Garden Spells. It is a week before first frot a time notorious for making Waverleys restless and unsettled, prompting them to act rashly and out of character and this year the Waverleys are no different. Claire, Sydney and Bay all have their own insecurities and doubts to contend with in the week approaching first frost.

I hate it when a book I love ends, First Frost definitely put me under a spell as I once again watch the lives of the Waverley women unfold. We watch Claire struggle with her identity and whether she really is a true Waverley and see Sydney’s need to put down further roots by having another child, afraid that once again she will be blown off course. I enjoyed both these story lines, they each had a touch of their own unique magic and both demonstrated how important family and belonging was to each of them.

However, it was Bay’s story that I fell in love with. Bay’s gift is to always know exactly where things belong, from an errant spoon to a person and when Bay first saw Josh Mattheson, she knew where he belonged; with her. Bay’s story of first love was beautiful, you could feel her longing for him and as someone whose gift begets order she wants him to finally go to where he belongs. It was wonderfully innocent yet packed full of emotion and Sarah Addison Allen’s touch of magic.

Another fantastic book from Sarah Addison Allen, she writes beautifully, I love her use of language, they way she describes things appeals to all the senses, much like the Waverley gifts. I can’t wait to see what she brings out next, I just know it will be wonderful.

*ARC provided by publisher

Click on the covers to buy the books
Garden Spells First Frost




About Sarah Addison Allen

New York Times Bestselling novelist Sarah Addison Allen brings the full flavor of her southern upbringing to bear on her fiction -- a captivating blend of magical realism, heartwarming romance, and small-town sensibility. Born and raised in Asheville, North Carolina, in the heart of the Blue Ridge Mountains, Sarah grew up with a love of books and an appreciation of good food (she credits her journalist father for the former and her mother, a fabulous cook, for the latter). In college, she majored in literature - because, as she puts it, "I thought it was amazing that I could get a diploma just for reading fiction. It was like being able to major in eating chocolate."

After graduation, her big break occurred in 2007 with the publication of her first mainstream novel, Garden Spells, a modern-day fairy tale about an enchanted apple tree and the family of North Carolina women who tend it. Booklist called Sarah's accomplished debut "spellbindingly charming." The novel became a Barnes & Noble Recommends selection, and a New York Times Bestseller.

After publishing four bestselling books in five years, Sarah took a hiatus when she was diagnosed with late-stage breast cancer at age 39. She returned to writing with her 2014 bestselling Lost Lake. She is now in remission. In 2015, she revisited the popular setting of her first book. First Frost continues the story of the Waverely Sisters from Garden Spells.

With 2 million books now in print and translated into 30 languages, Sarah continues to serve heaping helpings of the fantastic and the familiar in fiction she describes as "Southern-fried magic realism." Her books to date are: Garden Spells (2007), The Sugar Queen (2008), The Girl Who Chased the Moon (2010), The Peach Keeper (2011), Lost Lake (2014) and First Frost (2015).


What did you think of our review?
Let us know your thoughts in the comment box below!

❤ ♡ Don’t want to miss any of our posts?
Follow Under the Covers: Facebook | Twitter | Tsu | GoodReads | Email ♡ ❤

Follow me

Share this!

Similar Posts

Notify of

Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

I hadn’t heard of these books. I’ll have to check them out. Thanks suzanne

Amy R

The book and series sound good, I’ll be checking to see if my library has them.

Under the Covers Book Blog

You make me wanna read this Suz! ~ Annie


Thanks for the review Suzanne