Review: Dead of Winter by Kresley Cole

Posted January 8, 2015 by Annie in Reviews / 3 Comments

I received this book for free from Purchased in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.
Review: Dead of Winter by Kresley Cole
Dead of Winter
by Kresley Cole

4 Stars

BOOK INFO


Released: Jan 6, 2015
Series: The Arcana Chronicles #3
Published by Simon & Schuster
Pages: 336
Format: eBook
 

wp-postapocalyptic wp-ya

“If you think because it’s YA, it isn’t as intense, you’re wrong. Cole injects the series with heady passion and pulls off some amazing twists and turns.” ~ Under the Covers

Kresley Cole has tackled so many genres and in my opinion, has succeeded in them all. However, in the wake of the Immortals After Dark series and the erotically charged The Professional, the Arcana Chronicles gets slightly overlooked and I think it’s due to the fact that it’s marketed as Young Adult. Yes, the characters are younger, but don’t be fooled into thinking it tackles those younger subjects you find in most YA books. Cole creates a much more grittier world that dabbles with a lot of sexual themes. Even in the first book of the series, Jack and Evie battle this intense lust for one another that gets explored more in the following books. As a result, you get a series that is sensual and deadly.

DEAD OF WINTER wastes no time at all getting to the heart of the matter. Evie is back in action, fighting for her life all while having to choose between which guy she wants – Death or Jack. The Lovers have taken him and as the pressure mounts and the stakes continue to get higher, the question of whether Evie can get Death and Jack to work together is a challenge all on its own.

Cole’s writing is a bit different in this series. It’s a bit more choppier, more action-focused than the other books she has written. Though not my preferred style of writing, I can definitely understand why she did it. A lot of things go on, things based on prophecy and predictions that nothing is quite set in stone. Readers are tossed into the story quite quickly without any real warning. But if you think because it’s YA, it isn’t as intense, you’re wrong. Cole injects the series with heady passion and pulls off some amazing twists and turns.

Fans of Jennifer L. Armentrout’s Lux series, Richelle Mead’s Vampire Academy and Wendy Higgins’ Sweet trilogy would definitely get a kick out of this!

 

readingorder
Click on the covers to buy the books

seriesgoodreads

readourreviews2

 

About Kresley Cole

Kresley Cole is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the electrifying Immortals After Dark paranormal series and the young adult Arcana Chronicles. She has also written five award-winning historical romances.

Since her first novel was released in 2003, Kresley has published nineteen books with Simon & Schuster and has seen her releases translated into more than eighteen foreign languages. She has traveled over much of the world and draws from those experiences to create her memorable characters and settings. Two of her favorite places to visit include the rain forests of Central America and the Queensland area of Australia.

Cole’s trademark action, sensuality, and humor are exemplified in her popular Immortals After Dark Series, which revolves around the Lore, a secret stratum of hundreds of immortal creatures--ranging from Vampires to Lykae, Furies to Shifters, and Fey to Valkyrie--that each have their strengths, weaknesses, and age old prejudices against the others. Though they secretly live among humans, they constantly war among themselves, which gives her a lot of material.

In 2007, Kresley won the prestigious Romance Writers of America RITA award for best paranormal for her novel A Hunger Like No Other, and in January 2009, she became a #1 New York Times and Publishers Weekly bestseller with her sixth IAD installment, Kiss of a Demon King. In 2010, Kiss of a Demon King earned Kresley her second RITA award. 2011 brought Cole her second #1 NYT bestseller with Dreams of a Dark Warrior.

She lives in Florida with her husband and far too many animals. She spends any free time traveling and enjoys all things related to boats and water.

 

What did you think of our review?
Let us know your thoughts in the comment box below!

❤ ♡ Don’t want to miss any of our posts?
Follow Under the Covers: Facebook | Twitter | Tsu | GoodReads | Email ♡ ❤

Follow me

Annie

Blogger/Reviewer at Under the Covers Book Blog
I’m an obsessive makeup junkie and a compulsive reader. I like to call Under the Covers Book Blog my stomping ground, but when I’m not talking about books with my girls, I write New Adult Dystopian and Contemporary Romance under the pen name Ana Jolene (http://www.anajolene.com). I also work as a virtual assistant for authors. You also can find me as a reviewer and columnist for FreshFiction.com.

When it comes to books I’m pretty adventurous. I read everything from Paranormal Romance to Urban Fantasy, New Adult, BDSM, LGBT fiction, Cozy Mysteries and even YA. If it’s got the littlest trace of romance in it, then I’ll probably read it. That being said, my all-time favorite authors are J.R. Ward and Karen Marie Moning.

When I’m not submerged in a good book, you can find me musing about makeup and planners or dreaming about Kpop boys and beaches. Until then, check out my reviews and let’s talk books!
Annie
Follow me

Related Posts

Tags: , , , , , ,

releasecalendarbanner

Under the Covers Book Blog Comment Policy
Please read our comment policy here.

3
Leave a Reply

avatar
3 Comment threads
0 Thread replies
0 Followers
 
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
3 Comment authors
ElizabethAmy RTimitra Recent comment authors
  Subscribe  
newest oldest most voted
Notify of
Timitra
Guest
Timitra

Must check this series out…thanks Annie

Amy R
Guest
Amy R

Thanks for the review.

Elizabeth
Guest
Elizabeth

I read one kresley cole book…. i liked but I haven’t read her since…will have to remedy that…thanks