ARC Review: Personal Assests by Kelsey Browning

Posted August 31, 2013 by Angela in Reviews / 1 Comment

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.
ARC Review: Personal Assests by Kelsey Browning
Personal Assests
by Kelsey Browning

4.5 Stars

BOOK INFO


Released: August 26, 2013
Series: Texas Nights #1
Published by Carina Press
Pages: 230
Format: ARC
 

 

“Ms.  Browning delivered a novel full of small town quirks. Fans of Victoria Dahl, Marina Adair and Juliana Stone will enjoy this novel.” ~Under the Covers Book Blog

Personal Assets was a delightful surprise. I love small town novels and Ms.  Browning delivered a novel full of small town quirks. Fans of Victoria Dahl, Marina Adair and Juliana Stone will enjoy this novel.

Cameron has come back home to a small town in Texas to pursue his dream of owning his own Classic Car Restoration business. He has been gone for some time and the changes in his hometown will surprise him. Allie is the biggest shock. Everything about her is not what he expected. She is not the same rich, snooty girl he used to know. Where they avoided each other at all cost in high school, it’s quite the opposite now. And even a bigger shock is Allie’s job…and the proposition she has to offer him.

I love Cameron.  He is your typical small town man who holds strong to his hometown values. His reaction to the new “unconventional” events in his life almost gave him a heart attack. Allie and his mom are women of the TwentyFirst Century and this is something he just cannot accept.  Don’t get me wrong he’s not a Misogynist by the least.  But he’s very old fashioned and has a heart of a “knight in shining armor”.  I thought he was sweet and endearing.   Fortunately, Allie is a very strong willed woman and she will bring him to his knees and force to the new age.  Cameron and Allie were pretty hot together.  Ms. Browning did good pairing them up.

The secondary characters were well portrayed. Cameron’s mom, in particular, is my favorite. After losing being single for some time, she is finally giving love a second chance. Of course, Cameron will not let that go that easy.  I was really awed by his protectiveness over his mom.  But how she handles Cameron about her personal relations was a sight to see.  Her love story made a great addition to this novel indeed.

*ARC provided by publisher in exchange for an honest review

Did you like this review? If so, please tell us your thoughts in the comments below!

Angela
Follow me

Angela

Blogger/Reviewer at Under the Covers Book Blog
I am young at heart and a die hard romantic living in California.I am happily married to a man who understands my love for reading, blogging and my book boyfriends. I have two beautiful girls who are also avid readers but forbidden to any of my books.I like running, CrossFit and eat healthy but not necessarily good at it.My motto is “I have the right to choose my calories” and often, my choice of poison is a bag of Flammin’ Hot Cheetos.

I coblog and review here at Under the Covers and occasionally review for Hot Listens.I love to read PNR, UF, Contemporary, New Adult, and Romantic Suspense. Occasionally, I will venture to Erotica, BDSM reads and rarely Historical Romance. There are some sub-genres that I don’t always enjoy, but I’m open to stepping out of my comfort zone.For the most part, as long as there’s a hint of romance, I’m pretty much in.
Angela
Follow me

Related Posts

Tags: , , , , , ,

releasecalendarbanner

Under the Covers Book Blog Comment Policy
Please read our comment policy here.

1
Leave a Reply

avatar
1 Comment threads
0 Thread replies
0 Followers
 
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
1 Comment authors
Timitra Recent comment authors
  Subscribe  
newest oldest most voted
Notify of
Timitra
Guest
Timitra

Thanks for the review!