ARC Review: The Death of Mrs. Westaway by Ruth Ware

Posted May 29, 2018 by Francesca in Reviews / 7 Comments

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.
ARC Review: The Death of Mrs. Westaway by Ruth Ware
The Death of Mrs. Westaway
by Ruth Ware

4 Stars

BOOK INFO


Released: May 29 2018
Published by Gallery/Scout Press
Pages: 400
Format: eARC
 

Recommended Read!

“This is probably one of the best summer thrillers.”
~ Under the Covers

I’ve only read one Ruth Ware book before but this one really cemented the fact that she’s a masterful author.  There’s something about her writing that I just love in how she narrates a mystery that you can literally watch it unfold.  And she’s also great at keeping the reader guessing, even when you think you have things figured out.  That seed of doubt that she was able to plant in me when I had things solved in my head was my favorite part of reading this book.

But lets talk about it.  This story is about Hal, a woman who recently lost her mother to a tragic accident and has taken up her mom’s shop reading fortunes.  Down on her luck and with some serious money problems, she gets a letter about an inheritance from a very rich family after the death of, according to the letter, her grandmother.  Knowing this can’t be true, she sets out to pretend she is this missing granddaughter and claim what little money she might’ve been left.  She couldn’t have expected what awaited her.

The atmosphere was set so perfectly with the way each scene and location even makes you feel.  This is probably one of the best summer thrillers.  From the feel the author conveys, to the mystery you need to unravel.  Like I said, I haven’t read many Ruth Ware books.  But so far this is my favorite and I’ll be on the lookout for her next release.

spacer

What did you think of our review?
Let us know your thoughts in the comment box below!

spacer

 

About Ruth Ware

Ruth Ware grew up in Sussex, on the south coast of England. After graduating from Manchester University she moved to Paris, before settling in North London. She has worked as a waitress, a bookseller, a teacher of English as a foreign language and a press officer. She is married with two small children, and In a Dark, Dark Wood is her début thriller.

spacer

 ♡ Don’t want to miss any of our posts? ♡ 

Francesca
Follow me

Francesca

Blogger/Reviewer at Under the Covers Book Blog
I’m a 30 something sun lover living in the Big Apple (read New York).I’m a book and coffee addict and lover of all things elephants.

I get easily distracted by pictures of sexy guys and have tons of book boyfriends.I keep all my alpha males chained to my basement and guard them fiercely.*Back off bitches*I like to see Jason Momoa as a lot of those boyfriends, because ….. mmmmmmm JASON.MOMOA!

I’m a part time graphic designer (yes, everything you see on UTC has been done by me), run my husband's business from home and on a good day I’m a self appointed superwoman (she who can do it all).I love blogging with my girls and I couldn’t do it any other way!My first love is everything paranormal, but in the past few years I’ve re-learned to love contemporary romance.Every once in a while I like to mix things up with a historical romance, a steampunk or an LGBT book.Because I need variety to avoid book slumps.I don’t always need an HEA although I prefer one, and I love authors that can rip my heart out and make me ugly cry.
Francesca
Follow me

Related Posts

Francesca reviews THE DEATH OF MRS. WESTAWAY by Ruth Ware, a new thriller perfect for fans of Agatha Christie.  Best of 2018!

Tags: , , , , , ,

releasecalendarbanner

Under the Covers Book Blog Comment Policy
Please read our comment policy here.

7
Leave a Reply

avatar
4 Comment threads
3 Thread replies
0 Followers
 
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
5 Comment authors
Amy RUnder the Covers Book BlogElizabethTimitraKathy Recent comment authors
  Subscribe  
newest oldest most voted
Notify of
Kathy
Guest
Kathy

Fabulous review Francesca!! On my tbr gr list and amazon wish list!! Shared on all my socials!!

Under the Covers Book Blog
Admin
Under the Covers Book Blog

Thanks Kathy!

Timitra
Guest
Timitra

Thanks for the rec and review Francesca

Under the Covers Book Blog
Admin
Under the Covers Book Blog

🙂

Elizabeth
Guest
Elizabeth

I have to admit the cover is a definite lure. The story sounds interesting as well.

Under the Covers Book Blog
Admin
Under the Covers Book Blog

Hoe you give it a try

Amy R
Guest
Amy R

Thanks for the review, I love this cover.