BDB Week: What to Read After BDB…with a Twist!

Posted April 12, 2018 by Under the Covers Book Blog in Reading on the Dark Side, Under the Covers / 9 Comments

Oh man, picking books that you could read after BDB it’s either too obvious in terms of paranormal romances (and if you’ve been reading PNR for a while you’ve probably either read or heard of them) or just nothing could compare.  So we’ve decided to turn this recommendations list on its head and come up with things that don’t go bump in the night (mostly, although we included some of them as well) but that will leave you with the same happy feeling of visiting a rich and intense world like the BDB in their respective genres.

Romantic Suspense

Killer Instincts series by Elle Kennedy

It may come as no surprise here but I feel like the type of PNR that we get in the BDB series closely resembles a team of ex-military alpha males.  There’s something about the element of danger, life and death battles, and did I mention the alpha males?  And what better series to recommend that one of my all time favorites in the genre.  Military security, female assassins, family and team bonding, sexy times and … yes alpha males!  LOL

Read our reviews

 

Black Ops Inc series by Cindy Gerard

You might be thinking that this series doesn’t sound like it has anything remotely similar to the BDB series, but I can assure you there are plenty similarities. When I first started reading this series, I couldn’t help but think that this series’ humor and tone very much reminded me of the BDB. The heroes of this series are all alpha and possessive in their own ways, making me love them even more. Even the banter between all the guys mirrors some of my favorite series in the BDB series. So if you’re looking for a Contemporary setting but with the same level of action and suspense, then hopefully you’ll love this series too!

Read our reviews

 

Erotic Romance

Masters of the Shadowlands by Cherise Sinclair

Since BDB is known for its alpha male heroes, we decided to take it to the extreme and go for a V-themed picked. Sinclair’s Masters of the Shadowlands is filled to the brim with dominant alpha males. The only difference is that there is no paranormal element in this series. But Sinclair makes up for it with the hotter-than-hell sex scenes!

Read our reviews

 

LGBT

THIRDS series by Charlie Cochet

The major difference between this series and BDB is that the THIRDS is all M/M and instead of vampires, it’s all about shifters here. Packed with humor and heart, this series is a wonderful example of M/M romance done right, so if BDB has stirred up some excitement in this genre, you don’t want to miss this one!

Read our reviews

 

Paranormal Romance

Midnight Breed series by Lara Adrian

The similarities between BDB and the Midnight Breed series are endless but this series does take a more Sci Fi feel in terms of the origin of her vampires. With kickass heroines and their well-matched mates, you’ll find a lot of the same epic love stories here in this series.

Read our reviews

 

Demonica series by Larissa Ione

While this may not necessarily be an obvious choice for a PNR comparison, the feel of this series is very much like BDB.  They are both set in New York and I think that adds to it.  But it’s more than that.  While the Demonica world has a more broad cast of paranormal creatures, not just vampires, there is a group fighting against the forces of evil.  In this series, that group is ever changing and some characters are not just black and white, good or evil, but a mix of the two.  Much like with some of our fave BDB characters.  Lots of kick ass heroines and to die for males.  And there’s even the medical connection as in both series the characters need some professional paranormal medical attention.

Read our reviews

 

 

spacer

Under the Covers is graciously giving away
SIGNED copy of BLOOD VOW by J.R. Ward
Event giveaway / International

 

spacer

 ♡ Don’t want to miss any of our posts? ♡ 

Under the Covers Book Blog

Under the Covers Book Blog

Books have the power to unite people and that is exactly what happened with us! Our love for books have brought us together and we’ve become good friends in a short amount of time. We “met” online through Goodreads and decided to share our passion of books with fellow book lovers. And that is how Under the Covers came to be…
Under the Covers Book Blog

Latest posts by Under the Covers Book Blog (see all)

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

9 responses to “BDB Week: What to Read After BDB…with a Twist!

  1. Kathy Valentine

    So many awesome series!! And a few that I don’t know,but will check out! Ty for the recommendation ‘s!! Shared on all my socials!!

  2. Elizabeth

    I love cherise sinclair’s books! I also enjoyed the black ops series. However, I’ve only read book 1 in both the demonica series and midnight breed series.

  3. Miz Val

    I love BDB series so much! But you forgot about another great vampire series, Vampires in America by D.B. Reynolds .I discovered this series about the same time as BDB .The books come out a few months apart from one another

  4. Cynthia N

    The series by Larissa Ione and Cindy Gerard are both on my in-progress reading lists. Whereas, the series by Cherise and Lara are on wishlists. All great reads!

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge