If You Love This … Gena Showalter

Posted October 13, 2017 by Annie in Reading on the Dark Side, Under the Covers / 46 Comments

I’ve a little obsession with Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll for as long as I can remember. So whenever there’s a series or a book that references this classic, you can be sure that I will enjoy it. However, they can be a little hard to find if you don’t know where to look.

I’ve found that the Young Adult genre is a good place to look at for Alice in Wonderland-inspired stories. Many authors have taken the Classic and put their own twist on it. Probably the most popular and well-loved new take on this is Gena Showalter’s White Rabbit Chronicles series. Zombies you say? What a genius way of reinventing this world to make it more current and appealing to today’s readers! There are currently four books in the series right now with a touch of Romance running throughout. I think you’re a fan of Gena’s other books, you’ll definitely enjoy this one.

But if you’re looking for more Alice-inspired stories, try HEARTLESS by Marissa Meyer. Instead of focusing on the events of what we already know, Meyer does her retelling of the events BEFORE. So essentially, this is her take on a prequel to Alice in Wonderland. This one is a bit lighter in tone (very fitting with the fairy tale theme) and you can also expect familiar faces such as the Chershire Cat, the Mad Hatter and even the Jabberwocky. In my opinion, Meyer is an expert at fairy tale retellings. Her Lunar Chronicles series is just as amazing and features various famous stories as well.

Both series have the core characteristics of Caroll’s work, but they have put their own spin on it, creating something brand new and unique. I think if you read and enjoyed the White Rabbit Chronicles, you’ll absolutely love Heartless as well. Give it a go and let me know what you think!

 

White Rabbit Chronicles series by Gena Showalter

See my reviews here!

Heartless series by Marissa Meyer

 

♡ Don’t want to miss any of our posts? ♡ 
Follow Under the Covers: Facebook | Twitter | Tsu | GoodReads | Email
Annie
Follow me

Annie

Blogger/Reviewer at Under the Covers Book Blog
I’m an obsessive makeup junkie and a compulsive reader. I like to call Under the Covers Book Blog my stomping ground, but when I’m not talking about books with my girls, I write New Adult Dystopian and Contemporary Romance under the pen name Ana Jolene (http://www.anajolene.com). I also work as a virtual assistant for authors. You also can find me as a reviewer and columnist for FreshFiction.com.

When it comes to books I’m pretty adventurous. I read everything from Paranormal Romance to Urban Fantasy, New Adult, BDSM, LGBT fiction, Cozy Mysteries and even YA. If it’s got the littlest trace of romance in it, then I’ll probably read it. That being said, my all-time favorite authors are J.R. Ward and Karen Marie Moning.

When I’m not submerged in a good book, you can find me musing about makeup and planners or dreaming about Kpop boys and beaches. Until then, check out my reviews and let’s talk books!
Annie
Follow me

Related Posts

Tags: , , ,

releasecalendarbanner

Under the Covers Book Blog Comment Policy
Please read our comment policy here.

46
Leave a Reply

avatar
46 Comment threads
0 Thread replies
0 Followers
 
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
23 Comment authors
IrmaSuzanneArtemis GioteAdelia MastikaBube Recent comment authors
  Subscribe  
newest oldest most voted
Notify of
Tori Valenzuela
Guest
Tori Valenzuela

Ahhhh this series if freaking AMAZING!!!💙💜💚 I Absolutly LOVED it !!!!

Nico M.
Guest
Nico M.

This is wonderfully interesting!

Georgiana Matei
Guest
Georgiana Matei

The White Rabbit Chronicles was a great read! ❤

Maria
Guest
Maria

Great giveaway, as always 🙂

Jennifer Taylor
Guest
Jennifer Taylor

Thank you for this giveaway.

Anna Russell
Guest
Anna Russell

Thanks for chance

Suzanne McNeill Taviner
Guest
Suzanne McNeill Taviner

Would love to win this as I can’t get the books on Amazon in my country!

Amy R
Guest
Amy R

I haven’t read Gena Showalter but my friend loves her work.

Tori Valenzuela
Guest
Tori Valenzuela

Ahhhh this series if freaking AMAZING!!!💙💜💚 I Absolutly LOVED it !!!!

Darynda Jones
Guest
Darynda Jones

I adore both of these authors! Thanks for this post, Annie!

Nico M.
Guest
Nico M.

This is wonderfully interesting!

Georgiana Matei
Guest
Georgiana Matei

The White Rabbit Chronicles was a great read! ❤

Maria
Guest
Maria

Great giveaway, as always 🙂

Artemis Giote
Guest
Artemis Giote

Love Marissa Meyer! She is amazing and I haven’t read anything from Gena Showalter yet.

Jennifer
Guest
Jennifer

I have not yet read the White Rabbit series. I guess I found a new series to read! Thanks!

Mess
Guest
Mess

Just read Alice in Zombieland and freaking loved it!

Suzanne
Guest
Suzanne

Thank you this series looks amazing x

Jennifer Taylor
Guest
Jennifer Taylor

Thank you for this giveaway.

Anna Russell
Guest
Anna Russell

Thanks for chance

Elizabeth
Guest
Elizabeth

Thanks for the recommendation

Suzanne McNeill Taviner
Guest
Suzanne McNeill Taviner

Would love to win this as I can’t get the books on Amazon in my country!

Amy R
Guest
Amy R

I haven’t read Gena Showalter but my friend loves her work.

Darynda Jones
Guest
Darynda Jones

I adore both of these authors! Thanks for this post, Annie!

Artemis Giote
Guest
Artemis Giote

Love Marissa Meyer! She is amazing and I haven’t read anything from Gena Showalter yet.

Jennifer
Guest
Jennifer

I have not yet read the White Rabbit series. I guess I found a new series to read! Thanks!

Mess
Guest
Mess

Just read Alice in Zombieland and freaking loved it!

Suzanne
Guest
Suzanne

Thank you this series looks amazing x

Elizabeth
Guest
Elizabeth

Thanks for the recommendation

Bube
Guest
Bube

Thank you for the recommendation 🙂

Adelia Mastika
Guest
Adelia Mastika

Great review!!! Havent read yet White Rabbit but I would love to 😍😍😍

Bube
Guest
Bube

Thank you for the recommendation 🙂

Adelia Mastika
Guest
Adelia Mastika

Great review!!! Havent read yet White Rabbit but I would love to 😍😍😍

Kathy Valentine
Guest
Kathy Valentine

I love gena showalter’s books,but I haven’t read this series,I’m going to have to check it out!!! Thanks Annie! Shared on all my socials!

Kathy Valentine
Guest
Kathy Valentine

I love gena showalter’s books,but I haven’t read this series,I’m going to have to check it out!!! Thanks Annie! Shared on all my socials!

Kristy Petree
Guest
Kristy Petree

I haven’t read Gena yet, but this is definitely the kind of thing I love. Thanks for the chance!

lea
Guest
lea

thanks for the chance <3

Irma
Guest
Irma

I love this author! Thanks for the chance <3

Kristy Petree
Guest
Kristy Petree

I haven’t read Gena yet, but this is definitely the kind of thing I love. Thanks for the chance!

lea
Guest
lea

thanks for the chance <3

Irma
Guest
Irma

I love this author! Thanks for the chance <3

Laura Lovejoy-Brunk
Guest
Laura Lovejoy-Brunk

Gena is a long time favorite of mine. I have read almost every book she’s written, but this one. Fingers crossed xxx

Laura Lovejoy-Brunk
Guest
Laura Lovejoy-Brunk

Gena is a long time favorite of mine. I have read almost every book she’s written, but this one. Fingers crossed xxx

Yunnuen Glez
Guest
Yunnuen Glez

OMG! Thanks so much for the giveaway. 🙂

Linda Townsend
Guest
Linda Townsend

I need to read this series!

Yunnuen Glez
Guest
Yunnuen Glez

OMG! Thanks so much for the giveaway. 🙂

Linda Townsend
Guest
Linda Townsend

I need to read this series!