If You Love This…Jill Shalvis

Posted May 17, 2017 by Annie in Reading on the Dark Side, Under the Covers / 45 Comments

Here at UTC, we can be a little old skool. Most of our favourite authors have been around for years and no many new series make it into our auto-buy lists. So, we thought doing these posts would not only help us find new things, but also allow others to find older series that perhaps they haven’t encountered before but which we still hold dear to our heart.

If you love Jill Shallvis
…try out Bella Andre

I’ve been a fan of Jill Shalvis for quite some time. I’ve read all her books but series like the Lucky Harbor series really stand out for me. I’m such a sucker for small-town romances with quirky characters. It doesn’t hurt to have hot heroes as well. I feel like no matter which series you pick of Shalvis, you’ll always get that charming story that will no doubt make you smile.

But if you’re like me and have read all of Jill’s books and need something new to read, I highly recommend Bella Andre. Bella is more known for her Sullivans series which follows a series of highly successful siblings. She has written a spin-off series called the Seattle Sullivans and from there, she has another interconnected series called Summer Lake.

Both authors have a similar style. They don’t employ a lot of heavy conflict or emotions in their books and that’s always a nice thing when you’re looking for a good Contemporary. The focus is always on the Romance. Plus, both authors also always stress the importance of family and community in their books, which is great for long-running series. I’ve loved the majority of the couples in these books and I think if you already like one, you’ll probably enjoy the other author’s as well. Happy reading!

Bella Andre

Here are my reviews of her books

Jill Shalvis

Here are my reviews of her books

 

We are celebrating our 6-year Blog Anniversary this month!!!
*throws confetti*

We want to thank you for years of support and hope that we can bring you more hours of good reading in the future.  And what better way to celebrate than with a giveaway??  Stay tuned this week because we will have a new giveaway bundle up for grabs!  Giveaways will be open until the end of the month. 😉

Bundle # 3

You will receive the books pictured below (at least one is signed!) as well as a UTC t-shirt and some book swag.
This is open internationally!

 

spacer

 ♡ Don’t want to miss any of our posts? ♡ 
Follow Under the Covers: Facebook | Twitter | Tsu | GoodReads | Email 

Annie
Follow me

Annie

Blogger/Reviewer at Under the Covers Book Blog
I’m an obsessive makeup junkie and a compulsive reader. I like to call Under the Covers Book Blog my stomping ground, but when I’m not talking about books with my girls, I write New Adult Dystopian and Contemporary Romance under the pen name Ana Jolene (http://www.anajolene.com). I also work as a virtual assistant for authors. You also can find me as a reviewer and columnist for FreshFiction.com.

When it comes to books I’m pretty adventurous. I read everything from Paranormal Romance to Urban Fantasy, New Adult, BDSM, LGBT fiction, Cozy Mysteries and even YA. If it’s got the littlest trace of romance in it, then I’ll probably read it. That being said, my all-time favorite authors are J.R. Ward and Karen Marie Moning.

When I’m not submerged in a good book, you can find me musing about makeup and planners or dreaming about Kpop boys and beaches. Until then, check out my reviews and let’s talk books!
Annie
Follow me

Related Posts

Tags: , ,

releasecalendarbanner

Under the Covers Book Blog Comment Policy
Please read our comment policy here.

45
Leave a Reply

avatar
45 Comment threads
0 Thread replies
0 Followers
 
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
45 Comment authors
Kimberly CuringtonTrinidad LaraleaAdaIrma Recent comment authors
  Subscribe  
newest oldest most voted
Notify of
Chris Alexander
Guest
Chris Alexander

I’ve read a book or two from each of these authors. Everyone always loves these authors. I’ll have to remember to go back to them when I’m in need of something to read.

Bube
Guest
Bube

Marina Adair, she is one of my favorite authors and she write amazing small town romance books 🙂
Also, Candis Terry 🙂

Betul E.
Guest
Betul E.

Brenda Novak has a couple of great small town romance novels

Tammy V
Guest
Tammy V

I do like Jill Shalvis and also Kristan Higgins. For YA/NA Natasha Boyd and Huntley Fitzpatrick.

miki
Guest
miki

jill shalvis or tonya kappes

Aliyah
Guest
Aliyah

Jill Shalvis but also contemporary Nora Roberts is always a fave.

Chelci
Guest
Chelci

I love Jill shalvis and Bella Andre

Ginelle
Guest
Ginelle

Another great giveaway with a lot of names I certainly recognize and a few I’ve read! 🙂

Didi
Guest
Didi

I recently found a new to me author who writes awesome small town romance, it’s Kelly Moran with her Redwood Ridge series.

Amy R
Guest
Amy R

Kristen Ashley (Burg, Colorado Mountain series) and Penny Reid (Winston Brothers)

Quinn's Book Nook
Guest
Quinn's Book Nook

Ooo, I totally agree! I love both Jill Shalvis and Bella Andre. I find Shalvis’s books to usually have more humor and quirky characters, and Andre’s books to have less angst (which is always a plus in my book).

denise
Guest
denise

Susan Mallery, Debbie Macomber, Jane Porter, etc…

Kathleen Bylsma
Guest
Kathleen Bylsma

All mentioned above plus Mimi Pamiloff…so funny and so many more….

Kathy Valentine
Guest
Kathy Valentine

I have read both these ladies books!!! They rock!!! Shared on all my socials!!

Milena
Guest
Milena

I enjoyed Adriana Anders Blank Canvas books

Sophia Rose
Guest
Sophia Rose

I just tried Belle Andre for the first time this year and enjoyed it. I think my favorite smalltowns are by Carolyn Brown, but I also love Marilyn Pappano and Jaci Burton and Sharon Sala’s too.

Timitra
Guest
Timitra

I enjoy both quite a lot!

Andra
Guest
Andra

Kristen Ashley. <3

Ellen C.
Guest
Ellen C.

Jill Shalvis and Bella Andre, two good choices for contemporary romance.

Darynda Jones
Guest
Darynda Jones

I love both of these authors as well as pretty much every author mentioned in the comments. I adore Tamra Baumann and Liz Talley as well for contemporary/small town. Oh and Kim Law! There’s just so much wonderful out there.

Elizabeth
Guest
Elizabeth

I like the small town books by Jennifer Cruise and Lori Foster

Kim Perry
Guest
Kim Perry

Jill Shalvis, Susan Mallery, Lori Foster, and Kristan Higgins

EMELY ALAYO
Guest
EMELY ALAYO

I have no favorite yet but I’ve read some good series from Leanna Morgan, CA Harms, and a couple of books from others that are part of a series. I haven’t read a Jill Shalvis book. I guess I’ll look into that but I’ve got some Bella Andre books I can start with

Glenda
Guest
Glenda

I love so many of them, but Jill Shalvis is my contemporary autobuy! I haven’t read Belle Andre yet.

Ami
Guest
Ami

Jill Shalvis, Candis Terry, and Kendra Leigh Castle (though unfortunately Castle said that she wanted to write something else in the future)

Kathleen O
Guest
Kathleen O

Jill Shalvis has been one of my favs but I also read Candis Terry, Virginia Kantra , Jennifer Ryan and Emily March as well as Bella Andre.. Some great reading in this pile..

Laura Lovejoy-Brunk
Guest
Laura Lovejoy-Brunk

Lots to choose from, Kristen Ashley’s books pop into my head first.

Sue G.
Guest
Sue G.

I loved Jill Shalvis’ Lucky Harbor series and I also love Roxanne St. Claire’s Barefoot Bay series.

Trix
Guest
Trix

Mary Hughes’ Meiers Corners is an appealingly quirky town, and the multi-author m/m Tucker Springs universe is intriguing!

Amy Ryan
Guest
Amy Ryan

I love Kristan Higgins and Candis Terry! Will have to read more of Jill Shavis though

Joanne B
Guest
Joanne B

I love Jill Shalvis, Kristan Higgins, and Kristen Ashley.

Latifa Morrisette
Guest
Latifa Morrisette

Lori Wide is definitely one of my favorites

Maria Passia
Guest
Maria Passia

Kristen Ashley!

Cynthia N
Guest
Cynthia N

I don’t read many contemporary romance. But I do have one from PNR. That would be Caldwell, NY, from the world of JR Ward.

Melody
Guest
Melody

I don’t read that much contemporary but I’m open to do so. 🙂

Texas Book Lover
Guest
Texas Book Lover

Jill Shalvis and Bella Andre are definitely at the top of my list!

Anita H.
Guest
Anita H.

For sure Jill Shalvis and Erin Nicholas tops my list, although I have lots of favorites! 🙂

Artemis Giote
Guest
Artemis Giote

Susan Mallery and Nora Roberts!

Barbara B
Guest
Barbara B

Susan Mallery and Maisy Yates are good ones!

Jennifer Schaber
Guest
Jennifer Schaber

Katie Lane was the first name that popped into my head (not including the authors cited in this post). The next was Carolyn Brown. What can I say, small town cowboys rock my boat.

Irma
Guest
Irma

Susanne Elizabeth Phillips and many many more 🙂

Ada
Guest
Ada

Jill Shalvis & Kristan Higgins are my top faves for small town romances!

lea
Guest
lea

Kristen Ashley

Trinidad Lara
Guest
Trinidad Lara

jill shalvis

Kimberly Curington
Guest
Kimberly Curington

Nora Roberts.