If You Love This…Jill Shalvis

Posted May 17, 2017 by Annie in Reading on the Dark Side, Under the Covers / 45 Comments

Here at UTC, we can be a little old skool. Most of our favourite authors have been around for years and no many new series make it into our auto-buy lists. So, we thought doing these posts would not only help us find new things, but also allow others to find older series that perhaps they haven’t encountered before but which we still hold dear to our heart.

If you love Jill Shallvis
…try out Bella Andre

I’ve been a fan of Jill Shalvis for quite some time. I’ve read all her books but series like the Lucky Harbor series really stand out for me. I’m such a sucker for small-town romances with quirky characters. It doesn’t hurt to have hot heroes as well. I feel like no matter which series you pick of Shalvis, you’ll always get that charming story that will no doubt make you smile.

But if you’re like me and have read all of Jill’s books and need something new to read, I highly recommend Bella Andre. Bella is more known for her Sullivans series which follows a series of highly successful siblings. She has written a spin-off series called the Seattle Sullivans and from there, she has another interconnected series called Summer Lake.

Both authors have a similar style. They don’t employ a lot of heavy conflict or emotions in their books and that’s always a nice thing when you’re looking for a good Contemporary. The focus is always on the Romance. Plus, both authors also always stress the importance of family and community in their books, which is great for long-running series. I’ve loved the majority of the couples in these books and I think if you already like one, you’ll probably enjoy the other author’s as well. Happy reading!

Bella Andre

Here are my reviews of her books

Jill Shalvis

Here are my reviews of her books

 

We are celebrating our 6-year Blog Anniversary this month!!!
*throws confetti*

We want to thank you for years of support and hope that we can bring you more hours of good reading in the future.  And what better way to celebrate than with a giveaway??  Stay tuned this week because we will have a new giveaway bundle up for grabs!  Giveaways will be open until the end of the month. 😉

Bundle # 3

You will receive the books pictured below (at least one is signed!) as well as a UTC t-shirt and some book swag.
This is open internationally!

 

spacer

 ♡ Don’t want to miss any of our posts? ♡ 
Follow Under the Covers: Facebook | Twitter | Tsu | GoodReads | Email 

Annie
Follow me

Annie

Blogger/Reviewer at Under the Covers Book Blog
I’m a 26 year old obsessive makeup junkie and a compulsive reader. I like to call Under the Covers Book Blog my stomping ground, but when I’m not talking about books with my girls, I’m also a reviewer for FreshFiction.com. Over there, I’m also a columnist. I have a column called Into the Night that discusses the latest and greatest news in the Paranormal Romance and Urban Fantasy genre. I also work as a virtual assistant for authors.

When it comes to books I’m pretty adventurous. I read everything from Paranormal Romance to Urban Fantasy, to New Adult, BDSM, LGBT fiction and even YA. If it’s got the littlest trace of romance in it, I’ll probably read it. That being said, my all-time favorite authors are J.R. Ward and Karen Marie Moning.

When I’m not submerged in a good book, you can find me musing about makeup and fashion or dreaming about boys and beaches. My love for all things David Gandy is well documented on the Internet and we’ll be getting married shortly. I’ll be sure to send you an invite to the wedding! ;P Until then, check out my reviews and let’s talk books!
Annie
Follow me

Tags: , ,

45 responses to “If You Love This…Jill Shalvis

  1. Chris Alexander

    I’ve read a book or two from each of these authors. Everyone always loves these authors. I’ll have to remember to go back to them when I’m in need of something to read.

  2. Bube

    Marina Adair, she is one of my favorite authors and she write amazing small town romance books 🙂
    Also, Candis Terry 🙂

  3. Ooo, I totally agree! I love both Jill Shalvis and Bella Andre. I find Shalvis’s books to usually have more humor and quirky characters, and Andre’s books to have less angst (which is always a plus in my book).

  4. I love both of these authors as well as pretty much every author mentioned in the comments. I adore Tamra Baumann and Liz Talley as well for contemporary/small town. Oh and Kim Law! There’s just so much wonderful out there.

  5. EMELY ALAYO

    I have no favorite yet but I’ve read some good series from Leanna Morgan, CA Harms, and a couple of books from others that are part of a series. I haven’t read a Jill Shalvis book. I guess I’ll look into that but I’ve got some Bella Andre books I can start with

  6. Ami

    Jill Shalvis, Candis Terry, and Kendra Leigh Castle (though unfortunately Castle said that she wanted to write something else in the future)

  7. Kathleen O

    Jill Shalvis has been one of my favs but I also read Candis Terry, Virginia Kantra , Jennifer Ryan and Emily March as well as Bella Andre.. Some great reading in this pile..

  8. Trix

    Mary Hughes’ Meiers Corners is an appealingly quirky town, and the multi-author m/m Tucker Springs universe is intriguing!

  9. Cynthia N

    I don’t read many contemporary romance. But I do have one from PNR. That would be Caldwell, NY, from the world of JR Ward.

  10. Jennifer Schaber

    Katie Lane was the first name that popped into my head (not including the authors cited in this post). The next was Carolyn Brown. What can I say, small town cowboys rock my boat.

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge