ARC Review: The Turn by Kim Harrison

Posted February 14, 2017 by Francesca in Reviews / 7 Comments

ARC Review: The Turn by Kim Harrison

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.
ARC Review: The Turn by Kim Harrison

5 Stars


The Turn
Author: Kim Harrison
Series: The Hollows #0.1
Published by Gallery Books
Released: February 7th 2017
Narrator: Marguerite Gavin
Length: 16 hrs and 20 mins
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 448
Format: Audiobook
Source: Publisher

 

Recommended Read!

“Fans of The Hollows series, THE TURN is another can’t be missed novel by Kim Harrison!”
~ Under the Covers

It’s no secret that I’ve been a huge fan of this series, and I admit, I’ve missed the characters so much since the series came to an end.  As much as I was very happy with how the series ended, on such a high note and without dragging the plot, I was extremely giddy to be getting more from this world.  While THE TURN didn’t give us Rachel Morgan, it was just as amazing as any of the previous novels in this world had been.  A page turner from the moment I started.

This story centers around Trisk, and Trent.  If you don’t know, they are both elves.  Ruled by their society and traditions while Trisk has been trying to have more of a role in her field of work (it is the 1960s after all) and Trent has been her lifelong nemesis.  The actions they take during this story sent the world as they knew it out of control.  While taking a peak at their relationship was an interesting look back.  It was so very nice to get to know more about Trisk and it really made me admire her!

Fans of The Hollows series, THE TURN is another can’t be missed novel by Kim Harrison!  While this is actually a prequel, detailing how The Turn actually happened causing the human world to know about supernatural beings and ban tomatoes, if you are new to the series I would recommend you wait until you’ve actually read the series and read this in the order it was released.  You’ll enjoy it so much more!  Why, you may ask?  I think knowing what this story will tell you about the characters involved will be a disservice to how the actual first few books should make you feel about them.  So that’s my suggestion.

Kim Harrison continues being one of my favorite urban fantasy authors.  Her ability to creative vivid, complex and imperfect characters while weaving such a magical tale sucks me in every time.  No matter what.  I wasn’t sure how THE TURN was going to be, but I should’ve just trusted her completely.  It was riveting, interesting and eye opening.  As much as I thought I would struggle without Rachel and Jenks being included, there was not one page where I felt anything was missing as I was reading.  Excellent job!  And as happy as I was to revisit them, is it bad to hope that we can get even more in the future?  I just can’t let go.

spacer

spacer

READING ORDER & BUY LINKS

Click on the covers to buy the books

seriesgoodreads

readourreviews2

spacer

About Kim Harrison

New York Times bestselling author Kim Harrison was born and raised in the upper Midwest. Her bestselling Hollows novels include Dead Witch Walking, The Good, The Bad, and The Undead, Every Which Way But Dead, A Fistful of Charms, For a Few Demons More, The Outlaw Demon Wails, White Witch, Black Curse, Black Magic Sanction, Pale Demon, A Perfect Blood, plus the short story collection Into the Woods and The Hollows Insider. She also writes the bestselling Madison Avery YA series.

spacer

What did you think of our review?
Let us know your thoughts in the comment box below!

spacer

 ♡ Don’t want to miss any of our posts? ♡ 
Follow Under the Covers: Facebook | Twitter | Tsu | GoodReads | Email 

Francesca
Follow me

Francesca

Blogger/Reviewer at Under the Covers Book Blog
I’m a 32 sun lover living in the Big Apple (read New York).I’m a book and coffee addict and lover of all things elephants.

I get easily distracted by pictures of sexy guys and have tons of book boyfriends.I keep all my alpha males chained to my basement and guard them fiercely.*Back off bitches*I like to see Jason Momoa as a lot of those boyfriends, because ….. mmmmmmm JASON.MOMOA!

I’m a part time graphic designer (yes, everything you see on UTC has been done by me) and on a good day I’m a self appointed superwoman (she who can do it all).I love blogging with my girls and I couldn’t do it any other way!My first love is everything paranormal, but in the past few years I’ve learned to love contemporary romance.Every once in a while I like to mix things up with a historical romance, a steampunk or an LGBT book.Because I need variety to avoid book slumps.I don’t always need an HEA although I prefer one, and I love authors that can rip my heart out and make me ugly cry.
Francesca
Follow me

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 responses to “ARC Review: The Turn by Kim Harrison

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge