Review: Taming an Impossible Rogue by Suzanne Enoch

Posted April 1, 2012 by Annie in Reviews / 3 Comments

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.
Review: Taming an Impossible Rogue by Suzanne Enoch

5 Stars


Taming an Impossible Rogue
Author: Suzanne Enoch
Series: Scandalous Brides #2
Published by St. Martin's Paperbacks
Released: March 27, 2012
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 352
Source: Publisher

 

Fans of both Lisa Kleypas and Julia Quinn should really take a look at Suzanne Enoch’s books. As a fan of both Kleypas and Quinn, it’s hard to find another author that grabs my attention as they do. However, upon picking up TAMING AN IMPOSIBLE ROGUE, I knew right away that Enoch would become an author I would be interested in reading more of.

The opening paragraph alone captured my attention and it was then that I realized that I was missing out big time.

“Keating Blackwood came away with the sharpness of gunfire. Someone was in the room with him. Someone he hadn’t invited. Keeping his eyes closed, he stirred enough that he could slip his hand under the pillow and curl his fingers around the hilt of the knife resting there.”

Immediately, Keating became a character I was instantly attracted to. He is called “Bloody Blackwood” because of his past actions. Six years ago, an event transpired that caused him to leave the ton, causing rumors to spread about his inappropriate actions and ruining any noble reputation he had before.

Similarly, the heroine of this book, Camille Pryce has also been shunned by society when she ran away from her own wedding to a man named Stephen Pollard, the Marquis of Fenton. Fenton is actually Blackwood’s cousin and he is outraged when Camille leaves him hanging, thus making him the laughing stock of society because it seems that Camille would rather work at a gentleman’s club called the Tantalus Club than be married to him.

In a desperate effort to stop the whispers and laughter behind his back, Fenton proposes a deal to Blackwood. For an outrageous amount of money, he asks Blackwood to convince Camille to marry him. This offer is very tempting to Blackwood because he has a secret that follows him day and night. So, he takes it. But when he finally meets Camille Pryce, he soon realizes that there is more to the woman than just the fact that she is a runaway bride…

I have to say how much I enjoyed this story. There was never a dull moment and Enoch does a fantastic job with the pacing and chapter endings. I kept allowing myself to read one more chapter because I was so enthralled by it.

Another thing I loved about this book is the fact that the character’s personalities really shine through. Quinn and Kleypas are known for their witty dialogues, but I think Enoch should be added to that list as well. I loved the interactions between Keating and Camille. They were sweet, funny, and sometimes wickedly sinful.Keating for me was the major reason why I loved this book. Right from the start, he was an honorable man. Though he may have reasons to be mysterious, he was always upfront with Camille. He tells her his intentions and the reason why he wants to be her friend and I think this made him more likeable as a character. Though Camille and Keating start off as friends, it is obvious that they each wish to be something more.

I am very excited about the next book in the series, RULES TO CATCH A DEVILISH DUKE because I loved Adam’s part in this story and Sophia White seems like a very fun woman. I can’t wait to get my hands on this book!

I’m so pleased to have found a new author I can turn to for historical romance. Though this may be my first Enoch read, I can assure you it will certainly not be my last!

*Review copy provided by publisher

Did you like this review? If so, please tell us your thoughts in the comments below!

About Suzanne Enoch

Suzanne is known for her humorous characters, sexy bad boys, and whip-sharp, witty dialogue. She currently resides in Placentia, California with several hundred guppies and various other tropical fish, and handful of very loud, spinach-loving finches. And her collection of action figures and statues from “Star Wars”, “Lord of the Rings”, “X-Men”, and “Pirates of the Caribbean”. Everybody needs some inspiration, after all.

Annie
Follow me

Annie

Blogger/Reviewer at Under the Covers Book Blog
I’m a 26 year old obsessive makeup junkie and a compulsive reader. I like to call Under the Covers Book Blog my stomping ground, but when I’m not talking about books with my girls, I’m also a reviewer for FreshFiction.com. Over there, I’m also a columnist. I have a column called Into the Night that discusses the latest and greatest news in the Paranormal Romance and Urban Fantasy genre. I also work as a virtual assistant for authors.

When it comes to books I’m pretty adventurous. I read everything from Paranormal Romance to Urban Fantasy, to New Adult, BDSM, LGBT fiction and even YA. If it’s got the littlest trace of romance in it, I’ll probably read it. That being said, my all-time favorite authors are J.R. Ward and Karen Marie Moning.

When I’m not submerged in a good book, you can find me musing about makeup and fashion or dreaming about boys and beaches. My love for all things David Gandy is well documented on the Internet and we’ll be getting married shortly. I’ll be sure to send you an invite to the wedding! ;P Until then, check out my reviews and let’s talk books!
Annie
Follow me

Tags: , , , ,

3 responses to “Review: Taming an Impossible Rogue by Suzanne Enoch

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge